Votre titre Audible gratuit

Nocturna

Lu par : Kyla Garcia
Série : A Forgery of Magic Series, Volume 1
Durée : 14 h et 48 min
Catégories : Anglais - Teens, Ages 13 & Up

Prix : 30,73 €

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

The first in a sweeping and epic own-voices debut fantasy trilogy - set in a stunning Latinx-inspired world - about a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince who must team up to defeat a powerful evil they accidentally unleashed. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo, and V. E. Schwab.

To Finn Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the chin of anyone who crosses her...and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks. 

As a talented face-shifter, it’s been years since Finn has seen her own face, and that’s exactly how she likes it. But when Finn gets caught by a powerful mobster, she’s forced into an impossible mission: steal a legendary treasure from Castallan’s royal palace or be stripped of her magic forever. 

After the murder of his older brother, Prince Alfehr is first in line for the Castallan throne. But Alfie can’t help but feel he will never live up to his brother’s legacy. Riddled with grief, Alfie is obsessed with finding a way to bring his brother back, even if it means dabbling in forbidden magic.

But when Finn's and Alfie’s fates collide, they accidentally unlock a terrible, ancient power - which, if not contained, will devour the world. With Castallan’s fate in their hands, Alfie and Finn must race to vanquish what they have unleashed, even if it means facing the deepest darkness in their pasts.

©2019 Maya Motayne (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Thanh
  • Thanh
  • 07/08/2019

A rare treasure

Nocturna is an amazing book and performance. I would summarize it as "inventive, beautiful, and surprising." The setting, the magic, the people are all so well-described and well thought out. I look forward to experiencing more from Maya Montayne.

9 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Ruthi
  • Ruthi
  • 16/05/2019

Loved it!

I’m loving all of the new fantasy stories set in Mexico/Latin American inspired worlds that have been coming out lately! This one was another winner released on 05/07/2019 that I’m very grateful I saved a credit on Audible for! I won’t be doing a longer review for this one but for a short & sweet version: a prince meets a thief & they go on an adventure where they find freedom, and true loyalty and love in each other.
5/5 stars for both story by Maya Motayne & narrating by Kyla Garcia!

17 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Angelic
  • Angelic
  • 22/04/2020

Slow to Build Magical Spanish World

There was a lot of building, it moved a little slow, but once you got into the world it was hard to put down.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour J. Gentry
  • J. Gentry
  • 11/04/2020

good tale

I think this might be one I would like to read in print, there is a lot going on, and the story is pretty good, but the narrator was a snooze for me. There was just no life to her interpretation, I kept thinking where is her heart and emotion? Maybe in time she will improve. I'm going to read this and see how it goes.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Dustin mock
  • Dustin mock
  • 06/04/2020

Pretty good.

I enjoyed it. I think it’s best for very young readers And I’m looking forward to more in the series to see if it matures.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour slangs
  • slangs
  • 06/02/2020

Meh.

I saw several reviews compare this to VE Schwabs Shades of Magic trilogy. It did remind me a lot of that series, but Schwabs was league's better. Finn's character was an insufferable brat and I hated hearing all of her annoying/bratty comments, quips and comebacks. I put this on 2.95x speed around the 7 hour mark just to finish it. I do not recommend this book at all.