Votre titre Audible gratuit

Honestly Ben

Lu par : Dan Bittner
Durée : 9 h et 16 min
Prix : 19,40 €
9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

In this companion to Openly Straight, Ben confronts pressure at school, repression at home, and his passion for two very different people in figuring out what it takes to be Honestly Ben.

Ben Carver is back to normal. He's working steadily in his classes at the Natick School. He just got elected captain of the baseball team. He's even won a full scholarship to college, if he can keep up his grades. All that foolishness with Rafe Goldberg the past semester is in the past.

Except...there's Hannah, the gorgeous girl from the neighboring school, who attracts him and distracts him. There's his mother, whose quiet unhappiness Ben is noticing for the first time. School is harder, the pressure higher, the scholarship almost slipping away. And there's Rafe, funny, kind, dating someone else...and maybe the real normal that Ben needs.

Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Andrew Smith, and John Green, Honestly Ben is a smart, laugh-out-loud novel that will speak to anyone who's struggled to be "honestly ____" in some part of their lives.

©2017 Bill Konigsberg (P)2017 Scholastic Inc.

Critiques

"Dan Bittner's narration develops the unique personality of 17-year-old Ben, a secondary character in Konigsberg's earlier book Openly Straight.... In this follow-up, Bittner quickly reveals Ben's intelligence and introspection.... In a complex portrait, Bittner captures Ben's confused central conflict - is he gay, or straight, or is he only 'gay-for-Rafe'? Keeping the plot engaging, Bittner highlights Ben's search for his identity." ( AudioFile)

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jim S
  • 09/05/2017

Better than the first book in the series!

Maybe because Ben is grappling with his bisexuality, his character is more complex and interesting than Rafe's.

5 sur 5 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ara
  • 17/04/2018

Love Story, problem with a few characters

Firstly, I LOVED this book. Ben is such a complex and loveable character, the book made me want only the best for him.
BUT...
So in the 1st book I loved how Rafe was written, maybe it was the voice or something but he sounded like a dumbass in this one. Ben and Rafe has amazing chemistry in the first one but in the second it was off. Also I don't know why but some of Albi's words were off for me too. Other than that, the charaters were amazing and it let me stay in the world of openly straight for a little longer. 9/10 stars from me :)

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Ryan P.
  • 15/03/2018

Cute

Nice easy listen. I do not like Ben's attitude toward sexuality, he does not need to get so angry because people do not understand that he does not think he is gay or bi. People are trying to learn and understand sexuality in the world right now and it is more complex than most of us ever thought.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ben
  • 12/07/2017

Wow.

What made the experience of listening to Honestly Ben the most enjoyable?

At first, it was a little jarring since the narrator was different, but I got used to it. I loved that Ben felt real. He didn't become who he wasn't in order to make a good story. He stayed himself the entire time, discovering more things about himself in every chapter. (Trying to keep it spoiler-free.)

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Probably the last hour-and-a-half of the book.It kind of toyed with my emotions.

Any additional comments?

Read/listen to the first book. Then read/listen to this one. The first book is great. This one is better. I don't care what your sexuality is. This book addresses so many important issues and does so well.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 12/12/2017

Honestly, I️ loved the first book.

This book... wow. I️ don’t know if it was a story or just pushing a political agenda. The thing is, it just pushes the gay stereotype in a way- Rafe finally comes out to the whole school (where the first book basically left off) and well- now I️ get why he was called the gay kid. Now I️ don’t mind a flamboyant character, but this wasn’t the Rafe I️ read about and loved. The book before tried telling me I️ could be myself and gay, the message made me happy, because sometimes I️ don’t feel like I️ can do all the things I️ could do if I️ was straight. Now I️ see Rafe walking around school as a different person, not at all like the Rafe in the first book. It’s as if it took the message and flopped it over and stomped on it. It wasn’t just Rafe either- everyone was a bit off... Maybe it was the change in the point of view. If so, Ben should never be able to write a book.

Let’s go back to how good the first book was...
It’s about a homosexual boy who complains about something that a lot of people would call a first world problem or something in that alley... which yes it is- BUT- it’s extremely relatable. The author did a great job of how Rafe acted and thought and how others reacted to his declaration. It felt real... and isn’t that what a book should have when it comes to relationships? I️ was realistic and heartbreaking.

*SPOILERS*

Ben doesn’t end up with Rafe? Why? Is this some kind of anti- gay propaganda? No. It’s just realistic. Rafe lied about being gay- he thought Rafe knew what he was going through. When someone lies to someone, even something small that really doesn’t affect them as a person (which is a great point the book makes because being gay shouldn’t suddenly turn you into some different person) ie: their name, you would lose a lot of trust and maybe be scared, mad, confused, etc. at this person. IT’S HUMAN. It didn’t force two boys together- it taught me a lesson, and that’s amazing .

Now cue the second book- I️ have too many things to say...

First off-

Ben’s feeling towards Rafe-

They don’t make sense. There’s no reason to it he really gives, any that are given are very convenient.
The relationship is incredibly forced that way- nothing really has a reason.

Now I️ don’t want to make this too long... the thing is it probably won’t get much longer because hardly anything was memorable.

First off, Toby being gender-fluid...

The author goes into it... but doesn’t make it go ANYWHERE. There is hardly and conflict and it is just shoved in there for political reasons. Everyone accepts him/her/them??? That’s not realistic at all. It’s giving a false hope- sure that sounds sad but it’s true. It’s hard for people and this is presenting a non realistic outcome.

Now... Ben’s Speech

WHEN THE HELL DID HE DECIDE TO GIVE THIS? WHY? THERES NO EXPLANATION HE JUST GIVES IT??? AFTER TELLING THE READER HE WONT TELL ANYONE HE CHEATED??? Ok???

Honestly, There were so many more problems... but... I️ don’t really want to spend more time in this book. I️ can hardly remember any of if. I️ will admit it had good moments... not that I️ can remember them but I’m sure it made me smile once or twice. Sorry if this review had bad grammar or whatever... it’s a lot easier to rant when you are talking.

This book really took something away from me- I️ don’t know what, but I️ just feel sick. It was horrible. Go read the first book- it didn’t ruin all books for me.


4 sur 6 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Vicki
  • 21/03/2019

Should be on all school curriculums.

Wow, Ben is more self-aware at 16 then I am at 50somethingish. What a great book. I think it should be on all school curriculums. If for no other reason than to give them ideas of some of the questions they could be asking themselves. The expectations might be a bit high though, not everyone can be Mr. Magenta (you'll have to read it to find out). This is a continuation of Rafe's and Ben's relationship and the major growth that Ben must go through to get there. High prices to pay for a huge realization. I found myself envying Ben for figuring things out at such a young age. Perhaps if we all went through that at a younger age so many of us wouldn't be still trying to figure out who we are.

This story is very well done. The characters are well fleshed out and each unique in their own way. The discrepency between the idealism of youth and the mindset and generational differences of, ahem, older folk and teens are portrayed through several of Ben's relationships. The behaviours and dialogue were consistent. The pace and flow of the story are perfect. It would have been so easy to become as confused as Ben if the story wasn't laid out the way it was. I can't speak to the editing because I listened to this book.

I wish I had read this with a book buddy because there are so many things I would love to discuss with someone else.

This story was narrated by Dan Bittner, who did an excellent job in portraying Ben's confusion and his process of discovery. I had no difficulty in identifying who each character was even between the female cast which is rare.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • mjsevert
  • 12/02/2019

Excellent Follow Up

While I enjoyed the first book, I was even more pleased with some of the plotting and clever writing of the sequel. I really like that the author had some struggle in this and really showed some of the messiness of being human, while maintaining a optimistic tone.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Heidi N.
  • 26/08/2018

Loved it!

Another great YA novel about teen struggles, romance and coming to terms with one's own sexuality (with a side story of gender identity). I didn't want the story to end. I want to know what happens next for these boys and hope their story will be continued. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • An Amazon Customer
  • 25/08/2018

Wow

I thought the first book was great, but this book was so special. Unusual, insightful, deep, and by the end, such a beautiful presentation not only of our youth, but of human diversity. Wow.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • cindy bowen
  • 15/04/2018

So perfect

Loved, loved, loved this book! Ben is a precious cinnamon roll of a boy, and I ❤️ this book!!!

Trier par :
  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Marv From
  • 21/12/2018

Nice, but not as good as the first book

Compared to the first book, this one didn't quite live up to my expectations. Ben is an interesting and profound character, but he couldn't keep up with Rafe's often humorous narrative. Some nice moments, but overall pretty predictable story development. Nonetheless, for those of you who weren't satisfied with the ending of the first book, I can still recommend Honestly Ben to a certain degree.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • V. Hemmerle
  • 13/01/2018

i loved ben's story...

it resonated with me.
i'll listen to it again and again, because ben's honesty feels so good to me.