Gratuit avec l’offre d'essai

Écoutez en illimité un large choix de livres audio, créations & podcasts Audible Original et histoires pour enfants.
Recevez 1 crédit audio par mois à échanger contre le titre de votre choix - ce titre vous appartient.
Gratuit avec l'offre d'essai, ensuite 9,95 €/mois. Résiliez à tout moment.
Couverture de Cloud Atlas

Cloud Atlas

De : David Mitchell
Lu par : Scott Brick,Cassandra Campbell,Kim Mai Guest,Kirby Heyborne,John Lee,Richard Matthews
Essayer pour 0,00 €

9,95 € par mois après 30 jours. Résiliez à tout moment.

Acheter pour 27,65 €

Acheter pour 27,65 €

Utiliser la carte qui se termine par
En finalisant votre achat, vous acceptez les Conditions d'Utilisation. Veuillez prendre connaissance de notre Politique de Confidentialité et de notre Politique sur la Publicité et les Cookies.
Les membres Amazon Prime bénéficient automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts chez Audible.

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Ces titres pourraient vous intéresser

    Couverture de The Miniaturist
    Couverture de The Benevolent Society of Ill-Mannered Ladies
    Couverture de Red Dirt Road
    Couverture de Sharp Objects
    Couverture de The Robber Bride
    Couverture de The Collected Stories of Arthur C. Clarke
    Couverture de A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
    Couverture de The Charity Shop Detective Agency
    Couverture de Midnight at Malabar House
    Couverture de The Ninth Rain
    Couverture de The Extraordinary Life of Sam Hell
    Couverture de The Creak on the Stairs
    Couverture de Psyche and Eros
    Couverture de The Rabbit Factor
    Couverture de Jane Austen at Home
    Couverture de The Glass Castle

    Avis de l'équipe

    Why we think it's Essential: This is an ingenious novel composed of six embedded stories interconnected with subtle nuance and utter finesse. Brilliant prose, sharp social criticism, and six distinct narratives combine to make this a superb listen. The varying narrations provide unique tones and voices for each story, perfectly mimicking Mitchell's writing. I'd have given Mitchell the Booker Prize for this. —Chris Doheny

    Description

    By the New York Times best-selling author of The Bone Clocks

    Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize

    A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in 21st-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical, and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

    Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite.... Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter.... From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life.... And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neo-capitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a post-apocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

    But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

    As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult-classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

    List of readers:

    • The Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing, read by Scott Brick
    • Letters from Zedelghem, read by Richard Matthews
    • Half-Lives: The First Luisa Rey Mystery, read by Cassandra Campbell
    • The Ghastly Ordeal of Timothy Cavendish, read by John Lee
    • An Orison of Sonmi-451, read by Kim Mai Guest
    • Sloosha’s Crossin’ an’ Ev’rythin’ After, read by Kirby Heyborne  
    ©2004 David Mitchell (P)2004 Random House Audio

    Commentaires

    • 2005 Audie Award Nominee, Literary Fiction
    "[Mitchell's] exuberant, Nabokovian delight in word play; his provocative grapplings with the great unknowables; and most of all his masterful storytelling: all coalesce to make Cloud Atlas an exciting, almost overwhelming masterpiece." ( Washington Times)
    "[ Cloud Atlas] glows with a fizzy, dizzy energy, pregnant with possibility and whispering in your ear: listen closely to a story, any story, and you'll hear another story inside it, eager to meet the world." ( The Village Voice)
    "A remarkable book....It knits together science fiction, political thriller, and historical pastiche with musical virtuosity and linguistic exuberance: there won't be a bigger, bolder novel next year." ( The Guardian)

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de Cloud Atlas

    Moyenne des évaluations utilisateurs. Seuls les utilisateurs ayant écouté le titre peuvent laisser une évaluation.
    Global
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      4
    • 3 étoiles
      1
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Interprétation
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      5
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Histoire
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      4
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      1
    • 1 étoile
      0

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.