Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    The meek have not inherited the earth.

    The world isn't how they left it. When the bunker airlocks release them after 20 years in hibernation, the survivors find a silent, barren world outside. But they are not alone. There is a presence here, alive in the dust - spirits of the earth, benevolent and malicious as they interact with the human remnant.

    Milton is haunted by a violent past he's unable to escape, despite the superhuman speed the spirits give him.

    Not interested in bearing the next generation, Daiyna is determined to destroy the flesh-eating mutants lurking in the dark, pierced by her night-vision.

    Luther is a man of conviction who believes the Creator has offered humankind a second chance, yet he's uncertain they deserve it - and he's perplexed by the talons that flex out of his fingers.

    Willard is a brilliant engineer-turned-soldier who refuses to leave his bunker, afraid of becoming infected and willing to destroy any obstacle in his way.

    As their lives collide, the mysteries of this strange new world start unraveling, culminating in the ultimate life-or-death decision one survivor will make for them all.

    Don't miss this post-apocalyptic adventure with a paranormal fantasy twist! It's perfect for fans of Stephen King, T. W. Piperbrook, and The Walking Dead.

    ©2020 Aethon Books (P)2020 Aethon Audio

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de After the Sky

    Notations

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Willis Burns
    • Willis Burns
    • 28/01/2020

    Masterfully written and performed!

    Wow. Three letters that can’t even begin to express the depth and breadth of this book. From Campbell’s performance of Milton to the emotional heart-wrench that continually drags you through the series (sometimes, like me, sleeplessly for 15 hours), I can’t recommend it enough.

    I’d only read Fowler one other time and it was a short story. It was well-written, but I was not expecting such a well-executed long-form from him.

    I’ve listened to the narrator before, but I honestly think this might be his magnum opus.

    11 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Brian
    • Brian
    • 28/01/2020

    I Fell In Love With This Book

    4.5 out of 5 stars

    Normally when a book is this long I hesitate before picking it up.  Thankfully, I knew going into this that I already liked the narrator, so when I saw that it was a post-apocalyptic book with a bit of a twist... I was in. I didn't know what kind of twist and I didn't know just how in I was going to be, but Milo James Fowler's After The Sky sucked me in and wouldn't let me go.

    Without diving into the plot, this book seemed to be a mash up of a post-apocalyptic thriller and a fantasy novel.  The Earth is basically decimated almost beyond recognition. People were put into vaults (very Fallout-like) to hopefully come out on the other side. It seems that some of the vaults weren't what they seemed (also Fallout-like) while others caused people to come out... different.

    The story itself was a good one. Winding its way between different characters. Showing their points of view, how they thought and felt. And just going through how life was for them. Things weren't slow or boring though. Things keep happening so even if the book as a whole was a bit of a slow-burn that doesn't mean that it wasn't action-packed. Fowler took his time telling a methodical story about the survivors, the fantasy elements (trying not to spoil it here), and the Earth.

    After The Sky was a book that I didn't know how I was going to feel about in the opening few chapters. But once I got into the meat and potatoes of the story I fell in love with it. Fowler's character building is top notch and this story really took me to another world (even though it's on a near-future Earth). It's rare that I find a book that surprises me as much as this one did, but I'm happy when it happens.

    I couldn't finish my review without chatting about Campbell's narration. He does a great job.  In the beginning each character has their own voice and speech pattern and that doesn't really affect you, but as the story progresses there are scenes when two male characters are together and you wouldn't be able to tell them apart without his differentiation (that he set up chapters before). It was a great performance and took a good book and made it great. I'm interesting to see where the story goes and I hope that Campbell is along for the ride.

    8 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Brian W. Rossbach
    • Brian W. Rossbach
    • 21/02/2020

    It was a nice jaunt into a different genre for me.

    This particular book was not the norm for me. That said, it was enjoyable. I found the storyline was not a predictable one, and it kept me listening to see what would happen to the characters next. I have to say that I was surprised a few times. An apocalyptic survivors book of sorts, and kinda mystical at the same time. It's unique enough for folks like me to enjoy who are not inclined to read survivors stories, and I think it would also give diehard fans of the genre an interesting spin as well.

    5 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Rob
    • Rob
    • 14/02/2020

    Reminds me a lot of Fallout

    This was a pretty interesting read, reminiscent of Fallout and the book series "Wool", with a little X-men thrown in for good measure. When I got the book, I expected something else more akin to Apocolypse/survivor fiction based in a world similar to our own. This book departs from that and adds more science/magic to the world than I normally would have liked. However, all-in-all it was a good read and I look forward to listening to more books by Milo Fowler.

    5 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Nighteyes
    • Nighteyes
    • 03/02/2020

    good but frustrating

    the story is great, but for some reason the author tries to make almost every character unlikable in some way
    one is brash beyond belief, another arrogant and disregards others, a third is do weighed down by guilt it is his only real motivation and so on...
    That is a very personal read though so you might have a very different experience.
    the world and the lore surrounding it, the entire setting is fascinating and wonderful.
    honestly if the blurb was even remotely interesting to you I would get this book.

    the narration is on point and amazing.
    it's a wide cast of characters, but Steve makes them each his own and give them all life.
    when you can sense the characters emotions in the tone of voice, you know you got a great Narrator

    5 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour crimsonhiker
    • crimsonhiker
    • 28/02/2020

    Fallout with xmen

    This is a whole new post apocalyptic world. Not at all what I was expecting, but that is a good thing. After a couple of chapters I really started to get into the book. Milo James Fowler really did a great job in the character creations. The book flows really well together. I found I couldn't stop listening to the book. Steve Campbell did a great job bringing the characters to life.

    This book exceeds my expectations. This was my first book by Mr Fowler, but it won't be my last.

    4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Jeff Henneforth
    • Jeff Henneforth
    • 10/02/2020

    Interesting and different

    I don't follow a lot of post-apocalyptic fiction, but of the ones I've read/listened to this was probably the most unusual. Kind of a mash up of Book of Eli meets X-Men with a little The Shining thrown in. Took a little getting used to, but once I got further into the story, it really started to grow on me. At times, I wondered where it was going, but it all came together and I ended up really liking it. Will definitely get the next in the series when it comes out.

    4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Ned
    • Ned
    • 28/02/2020

    New and different - very interesting!

    (I received a copy of this book for review)
    I read a lot of sci-fi and fantasy. This is post-apocalyptic, with an element of the supernatural. Very well done, and not overly graphic. I'll be looking for the next book.

    3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Joshua B.
    • Joshua B.
    • 18/02/2020

    Sheesh!

    This story was absolutely AMAZING!

    So much intensity, so much adventure, such a wild ride!

    The only thing I can use to describe it is, Fallout meets Heroes.

    This was such an epic story, and the perfect narration by Steve Campbell made it a 10/10 listen for me. Can’t wait until the next one!

    3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Angela Bartlett
    • Angela Bartlett
    • 10/02/2020

    Not what I had expected

    I didn't care for the confusing timeline. I found it hard to get the characters straight. I think this is a book better suited to the printed page so you can flip back.

    3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile