Votre titre Audible gratuit

Voice of Power

The Spoken Mage, Book 1
Lu par : Shiromi Arserio
Série : The Spoken Mage, Volume 1
Durée : 9 h et 22 min
Catégories : Anglais - Teens, Ages 13 & Up

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

In Elena's world words have power over life and death - but none more so than hers.

As the daughter of shopkeepers, Elena has always known that the mysteries of reading and writing are closed to her. Only the mageborn can risk harnessing the power unleashed from putting pen to paper. Until Elena discovers an impossible new ability and joins the elite ranks of the mages. 

But with the kingdom at war, the authorities can't agree if Elena is an asset, or a threat they need to eliminate. Thrust into the unknown world of the Royal Academy without friends or experience, Elena will need all of her wits, strength, and new power to carve a place for herself. 

Except as the attacks become more personal, wits and strength won't be enough. Elena will have to turn to new friends and an enigmatic prince to unlock the mysterious potential of her words and survive her first year as a trainee mage. 

If you enjoy strong heroines, fantasy worlds, adventure, intrigue, and romance, then try the Spoken Mage series now!

The Spoken Mage listening order:

Voice of Power
Voice of Command
Voice of Dominion
Voice of Life

©2018 Melanie Cellier (P)2019 Melanie Cellier
Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent
Notations

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 18/07/2019

Wonderful

I have truly enjoyed listening to this tale. Although a little slow to get going the story does pick up. It’s a clean easy read and her ability to make me feel how Elena felt was great. I am really excited to see where the next book will go☺️😍

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Callen-wisdom
  • Callen-wisdom
  • 17/07/2019

Wonderful opening to a fascinating series

I loved this book and it was made even better with the narrator. The story just opened up under her voice and truly created something special. The description was excellent allowing you to place yourself in the story and world created. The main character is excellent and believable and the excitement builds as you go along.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10/07/2019

Really well done!

I read this book first as an ebook, so I was kind of worried I wouldn't like the audiobook since it might clash with the voices I already had in my head. But this wasn't the case! The audiobook version is really well done and a good listen. Highly recommend this book and its audiobook version!

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour ReadingOftenBringsASmile
  • ReadingOftenBringsASmile
  • 11/10/2019

carpool mom votes: yes!

I really enjoyed this story and the narrator distinguished voices of characters well. clean (no sex or swearing. one kiss, I think "idiot" is the only mean word in the book) mild violence (they are training to fight in a war)
a little reminds me of Harry Potter except the lead is female and 16-17yr old which allows a slow developing romance. my husband joked the 3 minutes he heard sounded like a girl's diary-but I don't think those 3 minutes are precisely representative of the whole book. action, and compelling plot kept me hooked. will listen to it again in the future.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Fun with Four
  • Fun with Four
  • 09/08/2019

Interesting and Fun!

The first book introduces the characters, the world they live in, and the prejudices and superstitions of the unknown. An intriguing start to a series that will keep you wanting to listen to or read to the last page of the final book.
This is an absolutely stunning series! Read all the books and came back for the audios. I do not normally read mage books, but these were incredible! If you enjoy mages, it is definitely worth reading. Clean stories, they do have battle scenes as the country is at war throughout the books.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour I love to read
  • I love to read
  • 09/08/2019

My New Favorite Series!

I love this book series, having first encountered it on Amazon unlimited and read all three books. When I saw that it came out on Audible, picking them up just made sense. The idea of a world where magic users write things down in order to make spells is one I have not encountered before. Then when we toss in our main character who is a different kind of mage and threats then status quo, thing get interesting. The narrator did a superb job bringing this world to life. She has a great voice that I very much enjoy listening to, and her narration was incredibly well done.was incredibly well done.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Peri Wood
  • Peri Wood
  • 20/11/2019

Life and death are in the power of the tongue

I have loved the Four Kingdoms books, so thought I would love these. It was, as usual, amazingly written and I understood the concept of the importance and power that our words have in our lives and in the lives of others. However, this particular series seems a little too much like a Harry Potter novel and the overemphasis on magic and spells isn’t my thing personally.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Faythe
  • Faythe
  • 13/08/2019

A great book to listen to.

This was my first attempt at listening to audio books. I had read the e-book for this book and when offered the opportunity to listen to the audio book, I choose to do so. I found that listening to the book was very good whenever I had something else to do that I couldn't read the book. As I knew the story I was able to follow along easily, and found out it was enjoyable to listen to a book as to read a book.

As far as the story, Elena is raised in a world where anything that is written down can be catastrophic to everyone, no matter how old or young they may be. The only exception to this is the mages, people who were trained to control the power released and channel it. When she discovers a thrio in the forest and learned that the child had found some sort of flyer and was trying to copy it, terror flowed through her. She managed to convince the other two there that he didn't mean anything, and they burned the flyer without trying to decipher it. Later that night a mob gathers outside her families store. They have been told of the incident and are bound to destroy the place the flyer had been found. She stopped the crowd with a single word: Stop. Everyone could feel the power that rushed over the mob and froze them in place. Her father thought there was a mage in hiding and was trying to thank them, yet she knew that power had flowed through her.

The next day, a mage in a red robe instead of the gray that would be for those out for a rogue, appeared at their house having tracked down the source of the power. He located her and insisted that she couldn't be who everyone told him and hauled her off to the Academy of the Written Word as he power had been uncontrolled but stable in what it did. This begins her training to be a mage.

The journey to become a mage is filled with trials and tribulations. I recommend listening to the book to follow this amazing journey. I loved the book as an ebook, and fully enjoyed listening to the book when it came to Audible. I found myself immersed in the journey, and once I have the money will prolly buy the following books as audio books.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Pen Name.
  • Pen Name.
  • 05/08/2019

Spoken magic!

This story introduces an interesting magic system, explores the consequences of illiteracy and classism, and keeps readers engaged with splashes of danger, court intrigue, friendship, and perhaps a hint of romance. The main character is likable (determined, curious, emphatic, and a bit prickly when circumstances warrant it). As an added bonus, the narrator is enjoyable to listen to as well. I think that this series could be a good fit for fans of Sherwood Smith or Tamora Pierce.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour NC book lover
  • NC book lover
  • 13/07/2019

Wonderful story and performance

This story and its performance were both amazing. I’m quite picky with the audio books I choose to listen to and I loved this one. The story was captivating and the narration only enhanced the characters and their experiences. I highly recommend this work! I immediately had to start the second book!

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Britta
  • Britta
  • 02/02/2020

Phantastische Serie

Tolle Serie, super Einführung in die erdachte Welt, die sich auch durch eine Geschichte und politische Komplexität auszeichnet, die es nicht oft gibt bei Phantasie Reihen.
Unerwartete Wendungen vor allem im dritten Band. Eine Romanze, die sie Storie belebt und nicht belastet. Auch wenn Elena anfangs etwas schwer von Begriff ist.
Meine neue Lieblings Autorin- definitiv empfehlenswert.