Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    One love story. Two marriages. Three versions of the truth.

    Too Good to Be True is an obsessive, addictive love story for fans of Lisa Jewell and The Wife Upstairs, from Carola Lovering, the beloved author of Tell Me Lies.

    Skye Starling is overjoyed when her boyfriend, Burke Michaels, proposes after a whirlwind courtship. Though Skye seems to have the world at her fingertips - she’s smart, beautiful, and from a well-off family - she’s also battled crippling OCD ever since her mother’s death when she was 11, and her romantic relationships have suffered as a result.

    But now Burke - handsome, older, and more emotionally mature than any man she’s met before - says he wants her. Forever. Except, Burke isn’t who he claims to be. And interspersed letters to his therapist reveal the truth: he’s happily married, and using Skye for his own, deceptive ends.

    In a third perspective, set thirty years earlier, a scrappy 17-year-old named Heather is determined to end things with Burke, a local bad boy, and make a better life for herself in New York City. But can her adolescent love stay firmly in her past - or will he find his way into her future?

    On a collision course she doesn’t see coming, Skye throws herself into wedding planning, as Burke’s scheme grows ever more twisted. But of course, even the best laid plans can go astray. And just when you think you know where this story is going, you’ll discover that there’s more than one way to spin the truth.

    A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press

    “Lovering, a master of manipulation to rival her own characters, does a skillful job of gradually unspooling her intricate tapestry of psychological intrigue while deftly juggling her multiple narratives.” (Kirkus)

    ©2021 Carola Lovering (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de Too Good to Be True

    Notations
    Global
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      1
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Interprétation
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      2
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Histoire
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      1
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour J.Hamp
    • J.Hamp
    • 05/03/2021

    Didn't see that coming

    A great book and the narrators are perfect. I had a lot of OMG moments. Easy to listen to... played a movie in my head.

    6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Morton
    • Morton
    • 05/03/2021

    Definitely a theme throughout this story

    The story is very interesting. As someone who grew up middle class in Fairfield County, I can relate to the writer's disdain for anyone trying to define their success in life through how much money one has and not by their morals. I found a lot of moments very cringe-worthy and was worried about how it would play out in the end, but it seemed to be pretty realistic overall. I would have given it a 3.5 if I could have and rounded up vs down because the ending was better than expected.

    4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour A. Lotuaco
    • A. Lotuaco
    • 13/03/2021

    Don’t think twice - download this one today!

    Loved this audiobook. All the narrators were great, but Stephen Dexter did the best job showing the two sides of Burke Michaels. The way he delivered sarcastic wit had me laughing out loud. There were other parts that had me so angry, and I might have yelled out an expletive or two. All that to say, all narrators did a great job with their characters and engaging you in the story.

    The story was fast paced, well thought out/clever and kept you guessing. The twist is delivered in a subtle way, and I didn’t pick up on it until it was revealed.

    This makes for a great beach or pool read/listen - click to download ... You’ll be glad you did.

    3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Rebecca
    • Rebecca
    • 08/03/2021

    Excellent

    Loved loved loved. Great characters and a gone girl worthy twisty plot. Going to get a copy for my best friend and mother in law. LOVE this author and can’t wait to see what she does next!

    3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Breta
    • Breta
    • 20/03/2021

    Eh

    It was a good story but it just seemed to fall flat at the end. The narration was good although the man's breathy voice was sometimes irritating. It was fast paced but it really needed a twist in the end.

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Michelle
    • Michelle
    • 15/03/2021

    Oh My Goodness!!!

    This story has “IT” all. The moral of the story is super inspiring! Letting go is so hard to do.

    Thanks

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Brandi N Skaggs
    • Brandi N Skaggs
    • 14/03/2021

    Loved

    The book was great! It did have some lengthy chapters that I feel they could have shortened some but overall great book.

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour H. Lain
    • H. Lain
    • 11/04/2021

    First Audiobook of its length in 1 sitting !!!!!

    Just listened for 12 hours and 21 minutes straight, which by the way is a right, left, and right again( only to 50% ) worth of Air pod lifespan. Good story as it took up most of my Saturday, couldn’t have put down if I tried.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
    • Amazon Customer
    • 10/04/2021

    Loved it

    Figured out what was going on fairly early, but still enjoyed listening. Good narrators (and I’m super picky) and interesting character. I would recommend.

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Brandon Moore
    • Brandon Moore
    • 09/04/2021

    Worth a read

    A little Slow to build up, but once this story starts to unfold it’s moves really fast and has some great twist and turns!