Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Winemaker's Wife

Durée : 11 h et 32 min
Catégories : Anglais - Fiction, Historical

Prix : 20,35 €

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

From the author of the “engrossing” (People) and “poignant” (Booklist) international best seller The Room on Rue Amélie comes a remarkable and moving story of love, danger, and betrayal: two women in France in the darkest days of World War II and another in present-day America on a quest to uncover the secret that connects them.

At the dawn of the Second World War, Inès is the young wife of Michel, owner of the House of Chauveau, a small champagne winery nestled among rolling vineyards near Reims, France. Marrying into a storied champagne empire was supposed to be a dream come true, but Inès feels increasingly isolated, purposely left out of the business by her husband; his chef de cave, Theo; and Theo’s wife, Sarah.

But these disappointments pale in comparison to the increasing danger from German forces pouring across the border. At first, it’s merely the Nazi weinführer coming to demand the choicest champagne for Hitler’s cronies, but soon, there are rumors of Jewish townspeople being rounded up and sent east to an unspeakable fate. The war is on their doorstep, and no one in Inès’s life is safe - least of all Sarah, whose father is Jewish, or Michel, who has recklessly begun hiding munitions for the Résistance in the champagne caves. Inès realizes she has to do something to help.

Sarah feels as lost as Inès does, but she doesn’t have much else in common with Michel’s young wife. Inès seems to have it made, not least of all because as a Catholic, she’s “safe.” Sarah, on the other hand, is terrified about the fate of her parents - and about her own future as the Germans begin to rid the Champagne region of Jews. When Sarah makes a dangerous decision to follow her heart in a desperate bid to find some meaning in the ruin, it endangers the lives of all those she cares about - and the champagne house they’ve all worked so hard to save.

In the present, Liv Kent has just lost her job - and her marriage. Her wealthy but aloof Grandma Edith, sensing that Liv needs a change of scenery before she hits rock bottom, insists that Liv accompany her on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive - and some difficult but important information to share with her granddaughter. As Liv begins to uncover long-buried family secrets, she finds herself slowly coming back to life. When past and present intertwine at last, she may finally find a way forward, along a difficult road that leads straight to the winding caves beneath the House of Chauveau.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network, The Winemaker’s Wife is an evocative and gorgeously wrought novel that examines how the choices we make in our darkest hours can profoundly change our lives - and how hope can come from the places we least expect.

©2019 Kristin Harmel (P)2019 Simon & Schuster Audio

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Diane
  • Diane
  • 20/08/2019

The narration was like nails on a chalkboard!

The story was great but the narration was so awful, I kept having to put it down for a bit. One of the main characters sounds and behaves like a surly teenager - I was shocked when it turned out that she was supposed to be 41.

3 sur 3 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Nancy
  • Nancy
  • 03/09/2019

Mixed Feelings

The story line was good, but would have been so much better with a stronger female lead. Why do writers insist on making women stupid? I know no one who would have reacted as this dumb girl did. It is just not believable. I finished the book hoping to find out more about the main character, but just not much. Very disappointed.

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Browyn Brough
  • Browyn Brough
  • 06/09/2019

Unexspected surprise

Im new to this author and enjoyed this end of summer treat. The book was filed with war love sacrifice and tragedy, ill not ruin the story for You but the last chapters pierced my heart and a few tears of joy and sorrow fell

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 06/09/2019

This story proves blood is not always thicker than water

What a great story. It tells of the cruelty of the nazis and how they devastated captured territory. It tells of foolish immature young adults and decisions they make can have far reaching consequences. Also the goodness of many people during the war and self sacrifice and courage two interwoven stories. Generations apart of love hate revenge redemption. A credit well worth it

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour grace m hough
  • grace m hough
  • 05/09/2019

fabulous

great characters. just when you think you know what's going on it takes a spin. kept me coming back to find out what happens next. Nice wrapped up ending but leaves some play for a 2nd book.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour readalot
  • readalot
  • 27/08/2019

More of a romance novel than historical fiction

If I were Kristin Hannah (The Nightingale) or Kate Quinn (The Alice Network), I'd be insulted that this book stands on the success of those fantastic novels and tries to put itself in the same category. This is nothing but a romance novel, and a weak one at that. I could only listen to half of it - 5 ½ hours of my life I can't get back. The narrating was so annoying - all 3 narrators were subpar - but perhaps its because the writing was so juvenile.

Seriously, the cover should have a shirtless man on the cover with a great chest like other cheesy romance novels do.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Debbie Stevens
  • Debbie Stevens
  • 12/09/2019

I couldn’t stop listening

Getting to know the characters took a couple chapters but once in I couldn’t stop. I love historical fiction. It teaches us about our past and how it shapes the future. Listening to past and the future is mesmerizing. The anticipation of their meeting keeps you hooked. When they meet your mind is blown.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour carolyn white
  • carolyn white
  • 12/09/2019

very moving story

I loved this book so much! it brought to life the struggles of the french and Jews during WWII with a heartwarming story of love, betrayal and hope.

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Sharon
  • Sharon
  • 05/09/2019

Not worth it

First, the narration really bothered me. It was read by several people. The narrator in the present time was just annoying and unpleasant to listen to. During the reading of the WW II period, the reading of one of the main characters was so flighty and idiotic, it made me dislike that character even more. As others have noted a romance of sorts with war in the background. It all seemed so idiotic that you just wanted to scream at the characters. Not much substance given, just bits of the times causing what the characters would do. Really did not like it at all and found it very contrived.

1 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour SAM
  • SAM
  • 26/08/2019

Complex, but beautiful

Stick with this one to the very end. Sometimes I grew impatient with the way the tale jumps from person to person over a long time period. As it all comes together toward the end, the story and lessons are enormously satisfying and beautiful. I’m very glad I found this book. The audio version is excellent.