Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Third Option

Mitch Rapp Series
Lu par : Nick Sullivan
Série : Mitch Rapp, Volume 4
Durée : 11 h et 45 min
5 out of 5 stars (1 notation)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.
©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

Commentaires

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." ( Booklist)
"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." ( Library Journal)
"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' ( Pioneer Press)

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Third Option

Notations
Global
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Interprétation
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Henry
  • Henry
  • 07/06/2011

If it had an ending, I'd give it a 5.

I can't get enough of the Mitch Rapp series, and this is no exception. My only complaint is that I could not believe this installment ended when it did. I was convinced that I failed to download a segment. Alas, the narrative was at an end. Fortunately, I have already downloaded Vince Flynn's next book. Great series Mr. Flynn!

30 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour William
  • William
  • 07/01/2013

A great novel nearly ruined by the reader.

Would you listen to The Third Option again? Why?

Yes.

What didn’t you like about Nick Sullivan’s performance?

He sounded like he was narrating a science text book.

Any additional comments?

Vincent Flynn novels not read by George Guidall should be re-recorded by George Guidall.

45 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour earle
  • earle
  • 15/07/2011

why no ending???????????????????

book was great all the way to the non ending. left a big hole, felt like a jigsaw puzzle with the last piece missing.

28 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour bigdjunta
  • bigdjunta
  • 05/05/2018

Please put a hit out on Anna Rielly

Ok, Mitch Rapp has an attempted hit on him again, so one would think circling the wagons and keeping quiet would be in order, right?
Not if you're Anna, Mitch's girlfriend. Considering he's a top-secret "spook", she sure loves to let people in on the secret. What an idiotic milksop. I was getting ready for her to give out various aliases of Mitch on her live TV broadcast. Better yet, why doesn't she put a marquee out on the White House's front lawn that says,"I'm Mitch Rapp's girlfriend. Please come make me a hostage or just kill me.Oh, by the way, Mitch lives [here]."
Spoiler:
Excluding Mitch's girlfriend, this book was much better than the last one. Losing THE CIA Director was hard. He will be greatly missed
I also enjoyed "The Frog." He was a great wiley character and I hope we see a beautiful Mossad agent again. Hey, we could get lucky. Maybe Mitch will leave Anna for her.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour K. Hollins
  • K. Hollins
  • 20/12/2013

"Non" Ending and Basic Pronunciation Errors

First, the pros. The story is good and the character development is what you'd expect from the series. Listening to the book is helpful if you want to follow the Rapp story arc sequentially. Now the cons. The book ends with no resolution, which is very unsatisfying. Had I not read other reviews before listening, I would have been certain that it was a download error.

Nick Sullivan's voice is fine; it's what he does with it that had me wanting to correct him in my head. For example, the character Anna Reilly comes from a family of Chicago cops. Is it at all reasonable to think it would be pronounced "Reelee"? Flynn writes the name Reilly countless times in the book, and every time Sullivan mispronounced it it was like nails across a chalkboard in my skull. I thought it was ridiculous that he kept pronouncing McLean, Virginia as "Macleen," but that only comes up a few times in the book. You'd think the production team would at least get the pronunciation of the main ensemble's names right.

The problem with those type of "unforced errors" is that they take the reader out of the story, dampening the fun of escaping into the author's world.

11 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour J. Clarke
  • J. Clarke
  • 24/08/2018

Great book but rough performance at times

I've read the entire series before and as always I enjoyed this book. I struggled with the narration. The fake voices were unnecessary and the mispronouncing of extremely common names became grating. That being said I enjoyed the story but I won't listen to another book narrated by Mr. Sullivan.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Richard
  • Richard
  • 19/10/2017

Bad Third Option...

I have really enjoyed Mitch Rapp until this book. The reader was very disappointing and I found Flynn's writing on this one to be absolutely sub-standard, bad grammar, repetitive and predictable.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour G.Damanis
  • G.Damanis
  • 18/08/2015

The Third Option

Started off a bit slow but I couldn't stop listening by the time I hit the chapters in the late-teens. The ending is phenomenal!

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour RB
  • RB
  • 14/03/2012

Very Poor Narrator, but the Story was Decent

Is there anything you would change about this book?

I wish the motives of the

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Nick Sullivan?

Anyone else. He has a really amateurish style and is quite stilted at times.

If this book were a movie would you go see it?

Maybe

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour James P. Murray
  • James P. Murray
  • 19/07/2011

no part 3???!!

There must be a part 3 somewhere. It couldn't possibly end at the end of part 2. What gives, Audible?

10 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Andreas B.
  • Andreas B.
  • 27/03/2017

Good mixture of action and scheming, but open end

The story was a good mixture of the action expected of a covert ops specialist, and the scheming of politicians, maneuvering for power. The plot leads pretty straight throughout the story, but in my eyes doesn't finish. The open end left a feeling of "wait, that's it?" where I had expected another chapter to come, with the avaited climax.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Philipp S
  • Philipp S
  • 03/06/2015

Great Story always in top

The Performance of The Reader is malicious. The story very American but great, together with the politic surroundings of Washington. If you like Tom Clancy you like this.