Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    The Last Smile in Sunder City is a brilliantly voiced contemporary fantasy for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Rotherweird or Terry Pratchett's Discworld, and the debut novel from high-profile actor Luke Arnold.   

    Fetch Phillips fought on the wrong side of a war between humans and magical creatures, and his actions helped to drain the world of enchantment. Now he works on the streets of Sunder City, taking what odd jobs he can while trying to help those whose lives he ruined.  

    His first case is to find a missing teacher. Professor Rye is a 400-year-old vampire with a heart of gold in a husk of a body. In a world without magic, most vamps have already crumbled into dust, but Fetch is happy to go looking for some dirt with pointed teeth if it gets him his drinking money. Then, when a young siren disappears, Fetch finds out that this dark world still hides some monsters - and he'd better clean up his act before they come into the light.

    ©2019 Luke Arnold (P)2019 Hachette Audio UK

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Last Smile in Sunder City

    Notations
    Global
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Interprétation
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Histoire
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Gaia Marino
    • Gaia Marino
    • 11/06/2020

    So engaging it was bewitching.

    The 5 stars are all well deserved, because this was a brilliantly written debut novel.

    Actor Luke Arnold is more known for his role as Long John Silver in the STARZ series Black Sails (which is amazing and you should go binge it right now if you haven't yet), and I had no idea he was such a good writer as well. He claims he's always loved writing, but stopped for a few years. Well I am so glad he picked that pen (or keyboard) back up!

    The Last Smile in Sunder City is a fantasy thriller with an amazing noir atmosphere, with lovable and immensely flawed characters. It's their flaws that keep you locked to the book, transporting you right to the dusty old roads of Sunder with detective Fetch Phillips: his painkiller addiction is as vivid as your need to know what happened to old, decrepit vampire Professor Edmund Rye. And when stories from the present start weaving with ghosts from the past, and you meet Amarita, Hendricks, and all the colorful characters that made Fetch who he is today, then you already know you're hooked.

    The audiobook makes it even better, even if you're not audiobook people (I personally am not, but I just had to give it a shot): Arnold's incredible acting skills give life to the characters to the point of making you forget he's the one voicing them all. And I already can't wait for the second installment of this new incredible series out in October.