Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Killing Hour

Lu par : Anna Fields
Série : The FBI Profiler, Volume 4
Durée : 11 h et 54 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

A serial killer watches and waits. Each time, he takes two victims, preparing the first's body with all the clues the police need to find the second, who is still alive. The clock ticks, and the second one can still be saved. But the police never make it in time. The second one dies. For years, the killer has plagued the city with the same pattern, but the police never pick up on it quickly enough. Now, two girls have disappeared in the midst of a daunting heat wave. Rookie FBI agent Kimberly Quincy knows the killer's deadline can be met. But she'll have to break some rules in order to beat an exceedingly vicious criminal at a game he's had years to perfect.
©2003 Lisa Gardner, Inc. (P)2003 Books on Tape, Inc.

Critiques

"With tight plotting, an ear for forensic detail, and a dash of romance, this is a truly satisfying sizzler in the tradition of Tess Gerritsen and Tami Hoag." (Publishers Weekly)

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Mina Brown
  • Mina Brown
  • 20/02/2005

Captivating--it hooks you!

I love it when I find an audio book that I can't stop listening to. This is one of them. I would find myself sitting in the car in the garage just to listen to more of it. The characters are richly described and "real". You will really like Kimberly and Mac, Quincy (her father) and Raney. The settings are so well described, you can almost smell them. And above all, the plot is tight and the mystery compelling. I highly recommend this book.

34 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Eileen
  • Eileen
  • 23/08/2005

Book is EXCELLENT, Narration, not so good

I read some of the other reviews, and I agree with those who had a problem with the narrator. Her "voices" for male characters really is rather silly - sort of like a child trying to talk like a "grown up" on the phone. However, don't let this stop you from listening. Eventually, you'll get used to it, and focus on the book itself.

This has to be one of the better mystery novels I've listened to in a long while (aside from Nelson DeMille). The story was intense, graphic and rather nerve-racking in parts. The basic premise is a killer on the loose who stalks young women. He waits for them outside of a bar, lays nails near their car tires, and when they pull over for the flat, he offers to help. Once they are out of the car, he shoots them with a tranquilizer gun. He kills one girl, and plants clues on her as to where he will abandon the other. Then he leaves the other girl in a remote area with only a bottle of water and her wits to survive long enough for the detectives to find her IF they can interpret the clues correctly and in time.

The story is suspenseful and has some terrific twists. For once, I didn't figure out the killer ahead of time. Toward the end, I was crazy to know what would happen.. I couldn't stop listening to this story - bad narration or not. Give it a try and find out for yourself what a brilliant mystery writer Lisa Gardner is.

14 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour nas
  • nas
  • 19/02/2009

love the author...can't take the narrator

I LOVE this author!! however, I'm finding it tough to get through this book on audio..thinking of buying the paperback....her voice is so monotonous....doesn't change a bit between characters, or situations. I find myself rewinding because I'm spacing out. It's never happened with any other book.
Just finished "say goodbye"...it was awesome! kept me listening into the night.
I think this story will be just as good but I now know a narrator can make all the difference.

13 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Cheryl
  • Cheryl
  • 03/11/2004

Totally Satisfying!

Lisa Gardner is a master of suspense. This was a great "sink your teeth in" book. More, more, more!! The reader makes it an extra pleasure.

29 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jill B.
  • Jill B.
  • 28/02/2009

Narrator=Horrible, Author=Great!

I LOVE LOVE LOVE Lisa Gardner. I like both of her series & I wish she had penned even more novels. I HATE HATE HATE the narrator. Anna Fields is very laughable at her straining attempts to do male voices. I had read Say Good-Bye before listening to this & I must say that I had never invisioned Mac's voice to sound anything like that! She makes him sound like he has no brains. When she starts speaking more quickly, she actually does a better job because I think she forgets who she is trying to be. If you like a good murder mystery, like Kellerman, Connelly, Cornwell, or Slaughter, you will like this, but you might consider reading the actual book over the audio version.

16 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 25/08/2009

Good book, horrible narrator!

I really enjoyed this book. However, the narrator is horrible. Going forward, I will probably read her books vs. listening. The narrator was monotonous and managed to make all of the male characters sound stupid and uneducated. I would suggest finding a narrator that can make the story come alive!

10 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Connie G
  • Connie G
  • 30/11/2012

Disappointing!

I have enjoyed every book I have read by this author so I was so disappointed in this book. It drawn out, repetitive and did not keep my attention. It was a CHORE to listen to this.

4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Wayne
  • Wayne
  • 20/08/2012

The Killing Hour is the 4th book in the Quincy...

family series, and it the only book in the series that I dislike. Lisa Gardner tends to write dark novels, but this one is too dark for me. Nevertheless, she remains one of my six favorite living authors.

9 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Becky
  • Becky
  • 02/10/2010

Could be better

I am trying to get through this book. I love Lisa Gardner's other books, but the narrator is TERRIBLE!!! I just don't understand how this woman got the job reading it.

4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour E. Tischhauser
  • E. Tischhauser
  • 19/05/2005

One of the worst books I've heard.

I have only stopped listening to one other book in the middle before this one. I just don't understand how this book could get such good reviews. I saw one other negative review about this book, as it turns out that review was 110% correct. The narration was so annoying that I could not concentrate on the story line enough to follow what was happening. It was like she was reading the story through her nose. I found my self tuning out and thinking about other things. I definitely will not be listening to anymore books narrated by Anna Fields. A total waste of time and money.

9 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Marguerite56
  • Marguerite56
  • 05/05/2007

Brutal realistisch, schlüssig, etwas für hard core-Krimifans

Dies ist mehr als ein gewöhnlicher Krimi. Durch die Erfahrungswelt der Hauptfigur, Kimberley, wird dem Krimi eine Dimension gegeben, die zugleich Spannung und Glaubwürdigkeit verleiht. Erzählt wird mit allen Details, vor allem wenn es um die zur Gefahr werdenden Natur, aber auch dem vom Menschen zerstörten Gleichgewicht, auf das der Öko-Killer anscheinend aufmerksam machen will und dabei zu brutalsten Mitteln greift. Die verschiedenen Erzählperspektiven bringen zusätzliche Spannung. Wer keine Angst vor heftigen Beschreibungen und minutiös beschriebenen Unschönheiten hat und eine schlüssige Handlung mit einem überzeugenden Täterprofil mag, ist hier genau richtig.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile