Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Ivy Tree

Lu par : Amy Molloy
Durée : 15 h et 10 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

Mary Stewart, one of the great British storytellers of the 20th century, transports listeners to rural Northumberland for this tale of romance, ambition and deceit - a perfect fit for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. 

Whitescar is a beautiful old house and farm situated in Roman Wall country. It will make a rich inheritance for its heirs, but in order to secure it, they enlist the help of a young woman named Mary who bears remarkable resemblance to missing Whitescar heiress Annabel Winslow. Their deception will spark a powder keg of ambition, obsession and long-dead love. 

The ivy had reached for the tree and only the tree's upper branches managed to thrust the young gold leaves of early summer through the strangling curtain. Eventually the ivy would kill it....

©1961 Mary Stewart (P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Commentaires

"There are few to equal Mary Stewart." (Daily Telegraph)

"Mary Stewart is magic." (New York Times)

"One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century." (Independent)

Ce que les auditeurs disent de The Ivy Tree

Notations

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kat Harrison
  • Kat Harrison
  • 20/08/2019

Narrator ruined one of my favorite books

Narrator boring, slow and terrible accent. Sped it up and made it better but still disappointing.

11 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour L. Nash
  • L. Nash
  • 19/08/2019

Narrator should be reading Pooh, not mystery

Need narrator who gives a good interpretation, and reflects it in her reading. She bored me to death.

9 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Mary B.
  • Mary B.
  • 20/08/2019

Very poor narration

Why did the publisher choose such a poor (and apparently inexperienced) narrator? Ugly accent, sounds US American, not really either Canadian or British. I have purchased several other of the new Mary Stewart books, including This Rough Magic, which I think is the best of all, and the narration was much better

5 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour STEPHANIE L HOLLAWAY
  • STEPHANIE L HOLLAWAY
  • 29/08/2019

Poor Narrator

This is a fantastic book written by Mary Stewart. I have read it countless times. I would say it is my favorite of her books. However, the narrator is not very good. She basically just reads the book. Very little change in voice. Not enough emotion is conveyed by the narrator. She does not do the book justice.

4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Leslie O'Connor
  • Leslie O'Connor
  • 18/08/2019

Ms Stewart is quite the wordsmith

I loved this book. Ms Stewart has such a gift for describing the setting....you feel as though you are physically there with the main characters. Amazing story, well crafted from beginning to end.

4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07/08/2020

Narrator's accent took away from the story

I had already read this book a number of times, but was looking forward to hearing it on Audible. I had listened to 11 of Mary Stewart's books before listening to this one. Each of the narrators had added to the experience of listening to the reading of much loved stories. Their voices had enhanced the stories, making me enjoy them even more than when I had read them by myself in the past. This narrator, however, broke the pattern of pleasure. First of all, the accent of the main character was odd and inconsistent. I normally feel sad when a good book comes to an end, but this time, I felt relief. It was shame because it did not do justice to a very good author. Second, the pace was laborious, and the rhythm of speech for the "Canadian" accent was off. It would have been so much better for the entire reading to have been done without this switching back and forth between Scottish, Irish, English, and Canadian accents,

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour B Reader
  • B Reader
  • 21/06/2020

Dated and a bit overlong

I loved Mary Stewart's works when I was young. Listening now I see that her portrayal of women, at least in this novel is silly and ineffectual. Stewart makes quite a few uses of "well, she's a woman after all," to describe weak character, poor decision making and general stupid behavior. I hadn't noticed this when I was young, but it's quite evident now that I'm 57. The narrator tried, but didn't manage to convey urgency. Her voice was slow and melancholy throughout. The attempts at accents were distracting. Sometimes it's better for narrators not to try.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 05/11/2019

Hauntingly Lovely

I'm in not sure I've ever enjoyed a narrated book so much. I have loved Mary Stewart for over 50 years, but Amy Molloy took it to an entirely new level. She Told the story rather read it. I was entranced.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Isabel Rose
  • Isabel Rose
  • 15/10/2019

As nuanced as Mary Stewart gets

This book has evocative descriptions, unforeseeable plot twists and only a minimum of coincidence...classic Mary Stewart.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Deborah McCormick
  • Deborah McCormick
  • 14/09/2019

I have loved this story since I was a young teen. It is a beautifully crafted story!

I have loved this story since I was a young teen. It is a skillfully crafted story that intrigues both the emotions and the intellect. I did note a few differences between that hardback book I read so many times and the audio version and wondered if I had dropped into another time string or something mystical like that. The audio was great, however, and beautifully performed. I highly recommend it!

1 personne a trouvé cela utile