Votre titre Audible gratuit

The Bone Houses

Lu par : Moira Quirk
Durée : 9 h et 9 min
Catégories : Anglais - Teens, Ages 13 & Up

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Sky in the Deep in this bewitching, historical horror novel, perfect for fans of Holly Black and V.E. Schwab.

Seventeen-year-old Aderyn ("Ryn") only cares about two things: her family and her family's graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote village of Colbren, which sits at the foot of a harsh and deadly mountain range that was once home to the fae. The problem with being a gravedigger in Colbren, though, is that the dead don't always stay dead.

The risen corpses are known as "bone houses", and legend says that they're the result of a decades-old curse. When Ellis, an apprentice mapmaker with a mysterious past, arrives in town, the bone houses attack with new ferocity. What is it that draws them near? And more importantly, how can they be stopped for good?

Together, Ellis and Ryn embark on a journey that will take them into the heart of the mountains, where they will have to face both the curse and the deeply-buried truths about themselves. Equal parts classic horror novel and original fairytale, The Bone Houses will have you spellbound from the very first minute.

©2019 Emily Lloyd-Jones (P)2019 Little, Brown Young Readers

Critiques

"The Bone Houses is an atmospheric and enthralling tale about life after death that mixes thoughtful characterization with whimsy, horror, and a dash of magic. Emily Lloyd-Jones instantly transports you to a northern Wales of old where the dead rise and legends may turn out to be histories. It pulled me -- and every bone I possess -- in from the start and refused to loosen its hold. It's a book best consumed with the lights on and a hand to hold. You'll definitely need them!" (Kalie Young, Barns & Noble at the Grove, LA)

"Throw excellent world-building, action-packed prose, and incredible representation for chronic pain into a cauldron, and you'll get The Bone Houses, a masterclass on the epic journey archetype with plenty of surprises in store." (Sami Thomason, Square Books)

"A dark, mesmerizing fairytale reminiscent of the Grimm Brothers, the Brontes, and Neil Gaiman in turn. The Bone Houses is a haunting and hypnotic novel that I drank deeply and savored. Emily Lloyd-Jones is an author who should be on everyone's radar." (Mackenzi Lee, NYT best-selling author of The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue)

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour C. Nor
  • C. Nor
  • 18/01/2020

Incredibly well written fairy tale-like story

This book was simply beautiful. It's told in a fairy tale like way, but is not a childrens tale. Magic is accepted as a reality for the mc but the memory of it is fading for others. Our heroine is unabashedly herself, strong, fierce, smart and brave. She protects, defends, rescues and pushes for resolution of the cause of her troubles. A wonderful potential love interest arrives in the form of a mild-mannered mapmaker. And the resultant adventure the two take is fairy-tale epic. The writing was pristine, the tone warm and true to character. The narration was among the best I've heard.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 31/12/2019

Good for those who don't like YA

This book has beautifully written and eloquent prose that reads a bit more like an adult book than a young adult book. It begins a bit slow, but instead of being action driven, this book really shines in it's emotional intelligence. The characters are believable and relatable, the author steers away from many cliches. I loved Ellis and his softness as a male character. The ending is really nice and has a beautiful message. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a fresh perspective on the fantasy genre.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Robyn Gregg
  • Robyn Gregg
  • 29/10/2019

Lovely Read

I really enjoyed this booked. A beautiful song and dance between life and death. All the good, bad, loving and devastating parts of both. The drama was believable and simple yet kept me engaged. Nothing about any of the character/relationship developments felt forced at all. I've been looking for a good stand alone story and this was a great one. Thanks to OwlCrate!

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour A User
  • A User
  • 21/02/2020

A wonderful fairytale!

What a lovely listen!!! Lately, I struggle to listen through an entire book; not so with this story. I was enchanted from beginning to end. It’s a good “old fashioned” fairytale - complete with magic, monsters, a heroine, and true love.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Andrew
  • Andrew
  • 20/02/2020

If you miss Nix' Old Kingdom

Nix will probably never take us back to the Old Kingdom. Even if he does, the journey will not mirror the exhilaration of the first four installments. "The Bone Houses" is about as close as we will get to a weekend holiday north of Ancelstierre. Old kingdom nostalgia is not the books only appeal; it does offer wonderful world building, unique mythology and an undead goat for comedy's sake. These delights are neither too elaborate to get lost, nor too vague to comprehend. This author manages balance well. This is a YA novel, but it is gritty and tactile in a way that welcomes adult readers. IF YOU ARE A BOARDGAME PLAYING, GRIM DARK LOVING DUDE WITH A MIDDLE SCHOOL TO EARLY HIGHSCHOOL AGE DAUGHTER, GRAB THIS BOOK AND READ HER A BED TIME STORY, ALOUD.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 12/02/2020

loved it

this book was a great listen. it was so good I'm adding a paper copy to my library.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Smartin
  • Smartin
  • 05/02/2020

must listen

the narrator was fantastic the story was great the world building was great I never got bored and couldn't wait until I can listen again

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Erin Rapp
  • Erin Rapp
  • 27/01/2020

Sabriel with zombies, meets Lord of the Rings

I flew through this book! The story was compelling and the performance was excellent. This book was more humorous than I expected, for a story about zombies. Highly recommend

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Lillie K.
  • Lillie K.
  • 31/12/2019

definitely for teens

not to bad something light for falling asleep to the narrator has a soothing voice

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Chelsey
  • Chelsey
  • 26/12/2019

extraordinary

loved it, could not put it down. narration was great. the story line was superb