Votre titre Audible gratuit

Secret Santa

Cherringham - A Cosy Crime Series, Mystery Shorts 25
Lu par : Neil Dudgeon
Durée : 2 h et 35 min
5 out of 5 stars (1 notation)

Prix : 4,39 €

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

Bill Vokes has played Santa at the children's Christmas show for years. But with the show just hours away, he vanishes with no explanation. The whole village is baffled. Did something bad happen to loveable Bill, upstanding citizen, churchgoer, life and soul of the party and the holiday season? Jack and Sarah are on the case - and soon discover there are secrets about this Santa that no one could have imagined...

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new audio episode released every two weeks. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa.

For fans of Agatha Christie's "Miss Marple" series, Lilian Jackson Braun's "The Cat Who" series, Caroline Graham's "Midsomer Murders", and the American TV series "Murder She Wrote", starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of "DCI John Barnaby" in "Midsomer Murders" and "Jim Riley" in "The Life of Riley". He is also known for his film roles in "The Nativity", "Sorted" and "Son of Rambow". In 2012, Dudgeon starred as "Norman Birkett" on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.
©2017 Bastei Lübbe (P)2017 Lübbe Audio

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11/01/2018

I love this series! please make more!

really wish there were more in English! I have up to episode 18 but can't find the next chapters read by the same narrator

21 sur 22 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Patricia
  • Patricia
  • 29/12/2017

Another great story

As always, wonderful storytellers and perfect narrator. Thanks for an engaging holiday respite in Cherringham!

10 sur 10 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Diana
  • Diana
  • 19/04/2018

Another well done audio mystery story - very good

This crime series is a nice way to spend time being entertained - the characters are interesting - there isn't sex, gore, and horror - the focus is on people, their behavior and lives.

I like the way this series skips months and years and the people are changing and growing over time - yet friendships stay the course.

The ideas the authors come up with for the mysteries to be solved are good - there are some really interesting twists and observations of human behavior and lives and choices.

The narration is very good.

3 sur 3 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour diane
  • diane
  • 10/03/2018

audible - pls offer books beyond nr 19 in english!

love this series - we really got into it -- is disappointing that beyond nr 19 in the series - the books are only offered in german. i hope audible considers offering the remaining books in english soon.

3 sur 3 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kdmd
  • Kdmd
  • 10/01/2018

Great!

More, please!!!!! Love this series, please do more. A fun perfect bite of a mystery. Neil Dudgen is a perfect narrator for this series!

3 sur 3 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Glenda
  • Glenda
  • 04/01/2018

What happened? Unimaginable and Predictable

I've enjoyed the other books in this series so I don't know what happened to this one. It reads as though it was written over night. Ex-cop Jack spent more time drinking than thinking and Compute whiz Sarah was written to miss the obvious. It was all very sad.

8 sur 10 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Elisabeth Carey
  • Elisabeth Carey
  • 18/12/2018

A clever and interesting Christmas short story

Bill Vokes has been the Cherringham Santa Claus for years, an important part of a happy community celebration. This year, though, he changes into his Santa costume--and disappears. At first there is more puzzlement and annoyance than alarm; Bill has a habit of disappearing for short periods, though doing so in the hour or so prior to his scheduled appearance as Santa seems atypical.

By the next morning, though, some people are growing concerned, and Jack and Sarah are asked to look into his disappearance, since there is not yet enough basis for the police to do so.

They soon find that Bill Vokes seems to have no existence prior to the time, years ago, when he and his wife Emily arrived in Cherringham. And although he seemingly has a comfortable income, everyone has a different story about where he got his modest wealth.

What's going on, and what does it have to do with Bill's disappearance?

This is a clever and interesting Christmas short story. I really liked Jack, Sarah, and their friends.

Recommended.

I bought this audiobook.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour michael benson
  • michael benson
  • 19/02/2018

Cherringham

This is a terrific series and Neil Dudgeon does a great job on it. Looking forward to more!

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Joy E Dauble
  • Joy E Dauble
  • 13/02/2018

Wonderful story & narration

I love all of these Cherringham mysteries. Easy listening, but also very engaging. I love trying to solve the mysterious along the way.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour j bradbury
  • j bradbury
  • 04/02/2018

easy reading

lovely light reading you can listen to anytime can't wait to read more thank you

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.