Votre titre Audible gratuit

My Oxford Year

A Novel
Lu par : Julia Whelan
Durée : 9 h et 58 min
3.5 out of 5 stars (2 notations)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

Major motion picture already in development with Temple Hill Entertainment

Set amid the breathtaking beauty of Oxford, this sparkling debut novel tells the unforgettable story about a determined young woman eager to make her mark in the world and the handsome man who introduces her to an incredible love that will irrevocably alter her future - perfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks.

American Ella Durran has had the same plan for her life since she was 13: study at Oxford. At 24, she’s finally made it to England on a Rhodes Scholarship when she’s offered an unbelievable position in a rising political star’s presidential campaign. With the promise that she’ll work remotely and return to DC at the end of her Oxford year, she’s free to enjoy her Once in a Lifetime Experience. That is until a smart-mouthed local who is too quick with his tongue and his car ruins her shirt and her first day. 

When Ella discovers that her English literature course will be taught by none other than that same local, Jamie Davenport, she thinks for the first time that Oxford might not be all she’s envisioned. But a late-night drink reveals a connection she wasn’t anticipating finding, and what begins as a casual fling soon develops into something much more when Ella learns Jamie has a life-changing secret. 

Immediately Ella is faced with a seemingly impossible decision: turn her back on the man she’s falling in love with to follow her political dreams or be there for him during a trial neither is truly prepared for. As the end of her year in Oxford rapidly approaches, Ella must decide if the dreams she’s always wanted are the same ones she’s now yearning for.

©2018 Temple Hill Publishing (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critiques

"Narrator Julia Whelan performs her appealing debut novel as well as listeners would expect, which is to say, terrifically.... The personalities pop, her pacing is superb, and the realism she injects will keep you wide-eyed." (AudioFile)

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Interprétation

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    2
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Karen
  • Karen
  • 03/05/2018

Beautiful

Even before the novel closed on musings about the meaning of it all, I thought to myself, this is life. This is what life is about. This novel is moving, breathtaking, beautiful. I sighed and I laughed and I cried, finishing the book feeling that I had just discovered one of my new favorite novels. Read this—or rather, since you’re browsing on Audible, listen to it. Please. It is in itself a phenomenal journey, and the author’s flawless performance only serves to enhance its brilliance, its warmth, its light.

Put simply: I am so glad this book exists.

101 sur 105 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Katie - Audible
  • Katie - Audible
  • 08/05/2018

A favorite narrator makes her debut as an author

What's better than a book performed by Julia Whelan? One written by her too! This book checked my two major "what makes me love fiction" boxes: it made me laugh, and it made me ugly cry. Oh, the ugly crying. Set in Oxford, the novel centers on Ella Duran as she attempts to balance her master’s degree studies, romance, and an unexpected new job as the education lead on a presidential campaign. The premise and setting lends itself to rich descriptions and plenty of fun literature references for us book nerds, showcasing Whelan's deep knowledge of both the subject and area. The novel really stays with you, and the love story within managed to both break me and make me feel hopeful. Whelan performs and really shows off her depth as a character actress, effortlessly transitioning between Washington lobbyists and British pub owners, making the listening experience all the more enchanting. Trust me…go get this book!

71 sur 75 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour k teed
  • k teed
  • 06/08/2018

4.01 stars

This is a pretty good debut by Julia Whelan. She does a great job with the setting and with the characters. She is a professional narrator, and that's where the audiobook shines most. For those who like romance novels, this one will be a hit. While it's not my favorite audiobook, it is quite good, and I liked it more than I expected I would.

Overall rating: 4.01 stars

20 sur 21 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Lori Smith
  • Lori Smith
  • 01/05/2018

I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

This book is a must read! I bought the paperback last week, but have been too busy to sit down and read it so I decided to use this month’s credit on the audiobook. I’m soooo glad I did. Julia Whalen is so talented! Not only is she a fantastic narrator, but she can also write. I was hooked immediately and ended up making time to read it too. I laughed and cried. I loved all the characters. Such a wonderful book. I will definitely read it again (and listen too). FIVE STARS!!!

17 sur 18 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Catherine
  • Catherine
  • 27/04/2018

5++++ Stars. Beautiful Book. Beautiful Narrator; Beautiful Author

I’m resisting the urge to re-read immediately. I need to sit with it a while first. This is a beautiful book about life, love and choices. The poetry she chose to include was outstanding. Please write more Julia.

25 sur 27 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Zuly Moreno
  • Zuly Moreno
  • 04/05/2018

Julia Whelan is quite the author!

I have to admit that I will pretty much listen to any book that is narrated by Julian Whelan so you can imagine my excitement when Audible notified me that not only is she narrating a new book but that she is also the author of that same book...mind blown, lol! As soon as I found out I bought it and listened to it right away. Loved every bit of this book! It was funny, charming and heartwarming. Julia please keep writing more books!

22 sur 24 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour adh
  • adh
  • 03/05/2018

What a pleasant surprise!! ♥

This was such a well written/narrated story...I didn't want to stop listening!!

I loved the characters and the setting. My only complaint was there was so much fade to black when it came to their romance. I don't mind fade to black sex, but the rest of the romantic development needs to be shown, not just told. This probably would have been a 5 star read for me had the romance been developed better.

28 sur 31 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jeanne Gransee Barker
  • Jeanne Gransee Barker
  • 10/07/2018

Magnificent book

Heartfelt warm and funny. Rich and deep. Wonderful characters. Fantastic pacing. Just a wonderful read. I highly recommends it.

6 sur 6 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Dutch28
  • Dutch28
  • 07/07/2018

Fantastic book! Narrator and story were perfect!

Hard to stop listening to this one. It pulls you in from the beginning, and I couldn't wait to get back to it. Hoping for many more from Julia Whelan!

6 sur 6 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Roubliz
  • Roubliz
  • 08/05/2018

Romance novel

I had high hopes for this book as I have enjoyed the narrator from other books. But this was a boring romance novel.

23 sur 27 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour R.
  • R.
  • 15/12/2018

Klare NICHT-Kaufempfehlung

Extrem schwülstige Cinderella Story. Achtung Spoiler!
Armer, aber attraktiver und intelligenter amerikanischer Studentin wird durch ein Stipendium ein Studienjahr in Oxford, England ermöglicht. Dort angekommen gibt es nichts weiter zu tun, als drei Freunde es zu finden, viel auszugehen, ab und zu in die USA zu telefonieren und eine Liebesbeziehung mit ihrem Tutor einzugehen. Dieser stammt (natürlich) aus gutem alten Adel, ist extrem reich, sehr gebildet und - wie sollte es anders sein - unwiderstehlich attraktiv und gutaussehend......leider auch schwer krank. Kommt einem doch bekannt vor, oder?
Während der Anfang des Buches noch etwas abwechslungsreich und interessant ist - bis auf die Zitate vor jeden Kapitel, die dem Hörer zeigen sollen - schau nur, wie gebildet ich, der Autor bin - wird es mit fortschreitenden Kapiteln immer schwülstiger, kitschiger und dazu ist der Lauf der Geschichte total vorhersehbar. Ich habe mich bis zum Ende durchgequält und sehr geärgert, dieses Hörbuch gekauft zu haben.

Positiv: Die Autorin (sie liest ihr Buch selbst) hat eine sehr angenehme Stimme und macht es gut möglich, die einzelnen Charaktere zu unterscheiden.

Fazit: definitiv keine Kaufempfehlung!

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour papercuts1
  • papercuts1
  • 24/11/2018

Schwächelnde "Love Story"-Variante

Julia Whelan ist eine meiner Lieblingssprecherinnen, und natürlich musste ich sofort zugreifen, als ich hörte, dass sie ihr erstes Buch geschrieben hat. Natürlich in der Hörbuchversion, von ihr selbst vorgelesen. Was sich zu Beginn anhört wie eine richtig schöne Liebesgeschichte zwischen einem jungen, englischen Uni-Prof und einer amerikanischen Studentin, entwickelt sich dann aber, nun, leider nicht. Ella wirkt furchtbar naiv für ihr Alter, ihre Freunde sind leicht nervig, und der ach-so-perfekte Jamie wird zum tragischen Liebhaber à la „Lovestory“. Man muss Julia Whelan allerdings zugute halten, dass sie ihn mit einer Stimme versieht, die einem die Knie weich werden lässt, und das will für eine weibliche Sprecherin schon etwas heißen! Mir insgesamt zu seicht. Schade.

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.