Prix : 17,26 €

Détails de l'abonnement : Détails de l'abonnement :
  • Gratuit pendant 30 jours, avec un titre au choix offert.
  • 9,95 € par mois pour le livre audio de votre choix, quel que soit le prix.
  • Vous n'aimez pas un titre ? Échangez-le.
  • Résiliez à tout moment, vos livres audio vous appartiennent.
ou
Dans le panier

Description

In a world full to bursting with would-be heroes, Jim couldn't be less interested in saving the day. His fireballs fizzle. He's awfully grumpy. Plus, he's been dead for about 60 years. When a renegade necromancer wrenches him from eternal slumber and into a world gone terribly, bizarrely wrong, all Jim wants is to find a way to die properly, once and for all.

On his side, he's got a few shambling corpses, an inept thief, and a powerful death wish. But he's up against tough odds: angry mobs of adventurers, a body falling apart at the seams and a team of programmers racing a deadline to hammer out the last few bugs in their AI.

Mogworld is a comic fantasy novel in the tradition of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett, and is the debut novel from video-game icon Yahtzee Croshaw (Zero Punctuation).

©2010 Yahtzee Croshaw (P)2012 Yahtzee Croshaw

Critiques

"The first legitimate breakout hit from the gaming community in recent memory" ( Boing Boing)
"Yahtzee consistently makes me laugh, and even though I dig computer and electronic games, he has cross-genre appeal to anyone who enjoys a sharp wit, unique sense of humor, and plenty of originality - not purely gaming fans" ( The Future Buzz)

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Notations

Global

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    2
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    2
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Histoire

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    1
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Trier par :
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars

first audibook

as a first expérience this is good, funny and with à very tight and satisfying story for anyone liking mmorpgs

Trier par :
  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Alyssa
  • 18/10/2012

Yahtzee learns to enunciate

I bought this for the same reason almost every one else purchased it for, I'm a fan of Zero Punctuation. On his blog, Yahtzee wrote that it was really hard to learn to speak slowly again and if you listen to the audio sample you can tell. The narration early on is stilted, as if he's trying to compensate. Likewise, the humor in the beginning is strained and trying too hard. He tends to reuse and abuse his metaphors, and over use words such as "insanely" and "suddenly". Sadly, these and other technical problems appear throughout the book.

However, if you love Yahtzee and are prepared to be both patient and forgiving, this book will reward you in the end. And by patient I mean you need to get through at least the first 3 hours. By that time, Yahtzee's voice has warmed up and the story picks up enough to let the jokes occur more naturally. The main character is endearing and the story amusing and involving. Yahtzee does a good necromancer voice too, though my favorite voice was Slippery John. The ending was appropriately poignant.

This book is better than other first novels by game designers (it made me think of Johannes Cabal: Necromancer). Yahtzee hasn't ascended to the pantheon with Pratchett and Douglas Adams but I will pick up his other book and hope for more author narrated audio books from him in the future.

64 sur 66 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Emily
  • 08/01/2013

Better than I could have hoped for

As a fan of Zero Punctuation, I went into Mogworld thinking I knew what to expect: a parody full of whip-sharp language and colorful similes. What I didn't expect was the honestly brilliant metanarritive about how video games are made, played, and perceived, woven into an unusual but engaging adventure story. The plot was refreshingly original, the characters were distinct and memorable, and the world felt right, just familiar enough to me, as someone who's played a lot of sword and sorcery RPGs. It was definitely the right choice to have Yahtzee narrate the story, because he imbues it with so much personality. Overall, a joy to listen to. Five stars.

11 sur 11 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ryan
  • 01/06/2013

Listened to this twice in a row - lotsa fun!

The premise is great - a former magic college student killed by a rival warrior university is raised 60 years later to be the undead minion of an evil Necromancer. Turns out the Necromancer is a great boss and the new walking corpse, Jim, comes to enjoy working in the Doom Fortress...until it's destroyed, with Jim and two other minions the only ones to escape.

Thus begins their quest.

The cast of characters, to me, were un-freaking-believably entertaining. I even loved the villains.

Also, the narrator was really something. At first, I was a little disconcerted since he so unconventional compared to others on audible. But after a few chapters, I found he was perfectly suited to bring to life the various characters. Then I discovered the narrator is also the author, so of course he had things well in hand - just took some getting used to.

Highly recommended

24 sur 26 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Alison
  • 15/11/2013

What fun!!!

I'm a big Z Punc fan. When I heard Yahtzee had done a narration of his book I had to have it. I finished it in a couple of days. If you enjoy Terry Pratchett, John Scalzi, or enjoyed Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, chances are you will enjoy Mogworld. If you are also a fan of Crowshaw's reviews you'll appreciate the additional level of humor.

6 sur 6 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Varba
  • 05/06/2013

Absolutely

Hands down, this is the funniest book I have ever had the pleasure to read or listen to.

I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the fantasy genre. Not only did I enjoy it, this is the only book to my memory which made me actually laugh. And when I say laugh, I don't just mean a dry chuckle or smirk - I am referring to a big full belly laugh.

With this book Mr Croshaw has made myself a fan of his work.

4 sur 4 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Joseph
  • 22/01/2013

Great story read by the author.

Would you consider the audio edition of Mogworld to be better than the print version?

Yes, because author's sense of humor shows even better when you hear it in his voice inflections.

Have you listened to any of Yahtzee Croshaw’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

Yes. It was of the same caliber to his better works.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

If you have the time.

4 sur 4 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Robert
  • 06/03/2017

Spend A Pound & Hire A Narrator

This book is hilarious. Very very funny. In the vein of Pratchett. The story kept me listening, & laughing throughout. Dry, British humor well written.
The narration was awful. Very painful to listen to. The author/narrator kept attempting different voices with absolutely horrid results. Knowing one's weaknesses and avoiding them is a strength. He should have avoided narration altogether or at least avoided multiple voices & stuck with his natural voice for all characters. And there was some mystical background noise that was very distracting. Seemed like poor audio due to a shoestring budget? Next time hire a talented narrator & a sound engineer & it will be a 5 * review because it really is a very funny book & with a good sound engineer & a good narrator it would probably be a top 5 listen.

8 sur 9 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Roux Franzel
  • 19/03/2015

Robert Asprin and Douglas Adams funny

Wonderfully narrated. it is a really funny funny story. the sarcasm and metaphors are quite witty. It is refreshing to have the storyteller be as good at narrating as he is at writing. Very very fun book.

8 sur 9 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dann Schuler
  • 01/10/2012

Outstanding!

I have been a big fan of Yahtzee's game reviews for several years so when I saw he narrated the book himself I had to buy it.

He did not disappoint. The story was better than I expected it to be. I am more of a Sci-Fi fan than Fantasy but I found this book very enjoyable.

I hope to see more books and narration from Yahtzee in the future.

8 sur 9 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Brian Osserman
  • 24/07/2016

LMAO!!!

If you like Monty Python that you will love this audio book. I've listened to this book many times and it still cracks me up. The author/narrator does a fantastic job of creating unique voices for each character. Makes it feel more like a radio play than an audio book.

3 sur 3 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

Trier par :
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Philip D.
  • 30/06/2017

Man muss Croshaws Zynismus einfach lieben!

Mogworld ist clever geschrieben, genau so wie sein neuestes Buch: „will save the galaxy for food". Ich kann es nur jedem empfehlen, der Geschichten (und den Stil) wie Douglas Adams "per Anhalter durch die Galaxis" mag!

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bubblehill
  • 30/03/2018

Fantastic first book

Loved it, from beginning to end. I already owned the paperback, but with the author's narration (even though it is noticably his first, the later books get much better when it comes to character representation), this is a joy to listen to. Story, character quirks, references - it's all there and it's highly entertaining.