Votre titre Audible gratuit

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    A pansexual bloodmage reluctantly teams up with an undead spirit to start a rebellion among the living and the dead, in this dark YA fantasy by A.M. Strickland, author of Beyond the Black Door, whom Richard Kadrey calls “a storyteller of both grace and power.”

    In Thanopolis, those gifted with magic are assigned undead spirits to guard them -and control them. Ever since Rovan’s father died trying to keep her from this fate, she’s hidden her magic. But when she accidentally reveals her powers, she’s bound to a spirit and thrust into a world of palace intrigue and deception. 

    Desperate to escape, Rovan finds herself falling for two people she can’t fully trust: Lydea, a beguiling, rebellious princess; and Ivrilos, the handsome spirit with the ability to control Rovan, body and soul. 

    Together, they uncover a secret that will destroy Thanopolis. To save them all, Rovan will have to start a rebellion in both the mortal world and the underworld, and find a way to trust the princess and spirit battling for her heart - if she doesn’t betray them first. 

    An Imprint Book

    ©2021 A.M. Strickland (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

    Commentaires

    “An utterly mesmerizing story of romance and found family. Strickland builds a deliciously dark and wonderfully intricate world full of blood, magic, and monsters that I wanted to be lost in forever. “ (Emily A. Duncan, New York Times best-selling author of Wicked Saints)

    “[A] feast of forbidden magics and deadly romances that keeps you on the edge of your seat until the last bloody page. Deliciously dark and riveting, it will leave you hungry for more. Perfect for fans of Wicked Saints and Gideon the Ninth.” (Ashley Poston, national best-selling author of Geekerella

    "A deviously plotted tale of twisting complexity where diversity lives and breathes as naturally as a beating heart. It’s everything you could want in a dark fantasy." (Lisa Maxwell, New York Times best-selling author of The Last Magician)

    Autres livres audio du même :

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de In the Ravenous Dark

    Notations

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour McKynzee Pivonka
    • McKynzee Pivonka
    • 10/06/2021

    4.2, Good Read

    I really enjoyed the blood magic and death magic system, and the bloodlines. that was different and interesting.

    I liked that there was lot of LGBTQ+ representation. I'm pansexual, so reading for the first time a pansexual MC was awesome.

    I really liked Lydea, Joffa, and Roven. Roven was brash and smart and impulsive, but I liked her fiery spirit. yeah, sometimes she did stupid things, but she was still a good MC.

    I hated the villains, the twists were great, but the ending ..
    was really confusing and weird.

    *spoilers*

    why bring vampire revenant things to an otherwise great story? bleh. it's just me, I'm really over vampires. so I did not like that weird ending.

    and yes, the ending was confusing and maybe a little disappointing. everyone that died, came back. made their deaths and emotions associated with that pointless.

    anyway. I still really liked it. and is Roven perhaps polyamorous?

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Starborn_Reader
    • Starborn_Reader
    • 19/05/2021

    Epic Dark Fantasy

    I was sold off the summary alone. This book has everything I love in a dark fantasy; Magic, spirits, scheming, secrets, plotting. The pace is fast, things take off right at the beginning. For a stand alone, the world building is fantastic. Strickland does an excellent job keeping you engaged and on the edge of your seat. I also really liked that there is a lot diversity and representation. I haven’t come across another fantasy like this.

    I would also consider this more an Upper YA book. Overall I really enjoyed this and would recommend if you’re looking for an epic dark fantasy.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour A&J
    • A&J
    • 04/10/2021

    Poor Editing

    There are quite a few editing errors that I do not believe are in the physical book.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Danielle
    • Danielle
    • 06/08/2021

    best book/narration combo I have hearn in a while!

    amazing!!!! seriously it was hard to pause! the world building and use of descriptors were captivating

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Precious
    • Precious
    • 21/07/2021

    Not really YA

    It an ok read a bit slow in terms of events, with much of the action happening towards the end. In my opinion none of the love interests made sense to me. I felt like it was just thrown together to be inclusive. I would have loved some characters (Lydea) to have more of a story going for them.

    • Global
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      2 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Kaysee
    • Kaysee
    • 24/06/2021

    Great Performance, but story not sure

    Overall, the book was great but it seemed a bit rush. I wish there was more character development with the main character and her love life. It was an easy-flowing book and the narrator did great. But, it would grab my attention in some parts but fall in others.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Kelli Jo
    • Kelli Jo
    • 26/05/2021

    Great surprise.

    I downloaded this real quick. didn't even know what it was about. turns out I loved it .

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Brittany Fenn
    • Brittany Fenn
    • 25/05/2021

    WLW storyline really lacks

    The story itself is good. It climaxes as it should and keeps the reader wanting to continue. The wlw relationship wasn’t built up very well, there was very little chemistry between the two. It was difficult to believe the words being said. The straight relationship was done much better. It almost felt as though a straight person was writing about what they think a lesbian relationship is without any actual knowledge. I appreciate there being a queer character but the relationship was lacking. The non-binary character was amazing and was definitely a highlight within the book. Overall, good read for those who enjoy a good storyline. I however, invest a little more in the relationship side so was a bit let down.