Votre titre Audible gratuit

Gone Forever

A Jack Widow Novel, Book 1
Série : Jack Widow, Volume 1
Durée : 9 h et 36 min

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

MEET JACK WIDOW in his first explosive appearance. 

#1 AMAZON best-selling novel in the vein of Jack Reacher and Mitch Rapp. 

Jack Widow is an elite NCIS Agent. He's the guy sent to hotspots all over the world, undercover among the Navy SEALs. He investigates the kinds of crimes that no one wants to speak of. Until he is pulled off assignment after someone shot his sheriff mother in the head. 

Now, in order to solve a very personal murder, Jack Widow is forced to return home to a town he hasn't seen in sixteen years. Taken-to-be a worthless drifter, Widow discovers more than his mother at her deathbed. He finds a distraught husband, a missing wife, and the small town of Black Rock, Mississippi, where the people harbor a horrifying secret that they will die to protect. 

Good thing that Jack Widow will kill to find out what. 

With a bonus of Winter Territory from the Jack Widow series. 

The JACK WIDOW Series in order:
GONE FOREVER Book #1
WINTER TERRITORY Book #2
A REASON TO KILL Book #3
WITHOUT MEASURE #4
ONCE QUIET #5
NAME NOT GIVEN #6
THE MIDNIGHT CALLER #7
FIREWATCH #8
THE LAST RAINMAKER #9 

©2016 Scott Blade (P)2018 Scott Blade

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour shelley
  • shelley
  • 31/08/2018

This is an exceptionally good MUST READ book...

I really enjoyed this book. It's the first in the Jack Widow series and I can not wait to listen to the others on Audible so far. I could be wrong but it seem like Jack Reacher was used as a template but there are enough variations to make this character his own.
Widow is a fleshed out and believable character. He begins his journey while on leave from his position as an elite NCIS for the marines.
He's called away from his duties when his mother, a Sheriff from a small town is shot in the head. Following an argument 16 years earlier, he hadn't spoken to her but arrived in time to make peace with her before she died. Now he feels it up to him to find out who murdered her and why, but his downfall may be a beautiful woman.
I really enjoyed the fluidity of this author's writing. There were no lulls in the story and enough details are given to create a very realistic feel to the story.
Alan Philip Ormond is a new narrator for me but one I will certainly be looking for in the future. His narrating is top notch!
This book has my HIGHEST RECOMMENDATIONS.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

17 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Wayne
  • Wayne
  • 10/11/2018

Is Jack Widow the son of Jack Reacher?

OK, the timing does not work out with their ages, but almost everything else does. Book 16 in the Reacher series, titled The Affair and set in 1997, has Major Reacher in Carter Crossing, Mississippi where he has an affair with female Sheriff Deveraux who is an ex-Marine. A railroad runs through the town and by the motel where the sheriff lives. Reacher and Deveraux use the heavy vibrations from the speeding trains to enhance their sexual acts. In The Affair there is a nearby US Army base named Camp Killian.

In GONE FOREVER (this novel) Jack Widow's mother (ex US Marine Sheriff Deveraux) dies of a gunshot wound. She tells her son that his dad was a drifter who carried only a tooth brush. She mentions the train coming through town when his dad was there and the heavy speeding train vibrations enhancing their sex acts. The town is now named Killian Crossing, Mississippi and Camp Killian, now closed, is nearby.

What does not fit other than Widow's age is that when Reacher was in Carter Crossing he was still in the US Army and he was not yet a drifter so he did not travel with only his toothbrush. Nevertheless, this novel hints very strongly that Reacher is Widow's father. Widow's mother, Sheriff Deveraux, is a very small woman while Widow is a Reacher-size man.

Jack Widow, surname from a marijuana plant species,is certainly very similar to Jack Reacher.

In any case this 2016 novel is excellent and Alan Philip Ormond's narration is stellar.Thanks to Audible listener Shelley for her reviews recommending this series.

11 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amanda
  • Amanda
  • 13/03/2018

I like Widow.

I really like the character of Widow. He is smart and the typical rouge ex-military guy. It was a little slow however the picture was painted very well with all the detail. Widow’s mother is murdered and he takes to the streets and hitchhikes as a nobody to find the culprit. I enjoyed the story and look forward to the next Widow book. I received a free review copy of this book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Teri L Wright
  • Teri L Wright
  • 06/09/2018

Great but...

This is a great book but it's also a lot like Jack Reacher!!! Even the toothbrush in the pocket referral!!! Again it's a great book and I will listen to more of the series!!!

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kyle
  • Kyle
  • 31/05/2018

Can't wait for book 2

I really enjoyed this book... Excellent narration, excellent story. Well done all around. Looking forward to book two.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour TU
  • TU
  • 05/03/2018

Good action adventure story

I was given this free review copy audio book at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

This was an entertaining and well narrated action adventure story. It definitely had a Jack Reacher feel to it but mixed with Walking Tall. I'd definitely be open to more from this author/narrator duo.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Rayc
  • Rayc
  • 24/02/2018

A Good read / listen

Jack Widow is an unusual character and you never know how he's going to react to a particular situation. He is full depth and his humanity is on show. I look forwrd to more of Jack Widow.
Well written storyline with a good pace.
Narration is clear & concise and is easy listening. The narrator helps to build tension in the story and moves the story along in the slower sections.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

A Good Listen I highly recommend this audio book.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kimberly Smith
  • Kimberly Smith
  • 09/02/2018

If you like Jack Reacher, you will probably like Jack Widow!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It started a little slow for me but, after the first chapter or two I was deeply invested in the story and the characters. I was reminded of the Jack Reacher novels several times while listening to this book....which, IMHO, is a huge plus. As with the Reacher novels, there's a lot of action, adventure, mystery, suspense, etc., and little to no sex scenes. I found Jack Widow to be a very likable hero/drifter/vigilante, and I will most definitely be listening to all of his upcoming adventures.
Alan Philip Ormond did an amazing job giving each character a unique voice. I was very impressed with his performance and look forward to listening to more of his work. I received a review copy at my request and voluntarily reviewed.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour CornerStone
  • CornerStone
  • 16/12/2019

Great reader

Like Reacher. Love this one will listen to all. New author for me. Good dialog No profanity. Arthur has a vocabulary.

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Yury Braginsky
  • Yury Braginsky
  • 08/11/2019

Boring!

Very slow. Lots of unnecessary conversations and details. Hero is an idiot. Couldn’t finish this book.