Votre titre Audible gratuit

Frostblood

De : Elly Blake
Lu par : Jennifer English
Série : The Frostblood Saga, Volume 1
Durée : 10 h et 39 min
Catégories : Anglais - Teens, Ages 13 & Up

Prix : 25,97 €

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

Description

The Frost King will burn.

Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge.

Despite her unpredictable abilities, Ruby trains with the rebels and the infuriating - yet irresistible - Arcus, who seems to think of her as nothing more than a weapon. But before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to compete in the king's tournaments that pit Fireblood prisoners against Frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her - and from the icy young man she has come to love.

Vivid and compelling, Frostblood is the first in an exhilarating series about a world where flame and ice are mortal enemies...but together create a power that could change everything.

©2017 Elly Blake (P)2017 Hachette Audio

Critiques

"Ruby's a spitfire who faces her challenges with grit...." ( Kirkus Reviews)
"This is an enjoyable, fast-paced debut that blends romance into a story of suspenseful battles, royal prisons, and rebel schemes.... This series opener is perfect for fans of Red Queen and will delight those who love fantasy, adventure, and romance. A strong addition to any YA fantasy collection." ( School Library Journal)
"This enchanting and fast-paced debut lights up the page with magic, romance, and action, all of which is expertly interwoven throughout the text. Readers will be eagerly anticipating the next book in the series." ( Booklist)

Autres livres audio du même :

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour dennis wright
  • dennis wright
  • 05/02/2017

Love this book

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Absolutely, I think this is my new favorite book!

What other book might you compare Frostblood to and why?

It almost reminds me of the series' 'Throne of Glass', 'Poison study', and 'Possession'. Almost but not really.

What about Jennifer English’s performance did you like?

I loved how she narrated it, her emphasis, the way she genuinely sounded happy when the book needed it, and also just her voice.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Not sure

Any additional comments?

Later in the book, I found myself guessing most everything that was going to happen. Which wasn't such a bad thing, keeping me snared. Finishing it in only one night, I am antsy to read the next.
-Kate

7 sur 7 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour lisse
  • lisse
  • 20/03/2017

Did not want to stop listening

Well written fantasy. Likeable heroine, action packed with a little romance. Looking forward to book #2.

2 sur 2 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour TY
  • TY
  • 04/04/2019

Enjoyable Book

I really enjoyed this novel a lot more than I thought I would. The reading wasn’t crisp and clean but the narrator did a wonderful job separating voices and emphasizing important portions of the story. Definitely worth the credit!

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Tiffany
  • Tiffany
  • 12/03/2017

Totally worth it! Give it a try!

I will admit the first 2 chapters were a little slow. I had to start over a few times. But by chapter 3 I was hooked. I found myself holding my breath in anticipation for what was coming next. Think hunger games with the action of red rising mixed with a little of the teenage angst from twilight. A sure hit. can't wait for book 2

1 sur 1 personne(s) ont trouvé cet avis utile.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 02/11/2019

sooooo good!

This book was great. The plot was a little predictable, but with enough twist and turns to keep me from being able to put it down. cant wait to start the next book.

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Pookies
  • Pookies
  • 21/08/2019

Painfully slow.....

This was painfully slow.... I mean I literally skipped through the first 10 chapters and this was after trying to get into it after putting the audio down several times. However, after some determination to finish I’m somewhat glad I did. I say somewhat because certain aspects of the story I was not thrilled with such as “possessions” which I really wouldn’t let my teens read. Besides that after getting into it I couldn’t put it down till the end. Not sure about finishing the series for me it’s a meh. I did enjoy the banter between the H&h.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Cary rodgers
  • Cary rodgers
  • 05/02/2019

just awesome

I dont normally like Romance heavy fantasy but this was so well written. you would think fire and ice would be original but it was absolutely original and masterfully written. so many fantasy books are filled with love and dragged out the story with little bits and pieces of action not this book.The pacing was perfect not too fast not too slow. Every word meant something. I've read over 700 books and this book is in my top 5. I will be buying next part of this series right after this review. the narrator was absolutely amazing she really brought the character to life and gave personality.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour C. Y.
  • C. Y.
  • 05/02/2019

Loved it!

I received this book from a book club site. I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it, but I read it in one sitting. I loved the characters and the story line. I also like the fact that the two main characters’ relationship wasn’t about lust, but was about respect toward one another. You don’t read stories like that very much these days. It was refreshing just to read a love story that was just so sweet and beyond the physical.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour P.D. Pabst
  • P.D. Pabst
  • 18/01/2019

Fantastic Read!

Elly wrote so much emotion into her story that it was easy to connect with the characters. I couldn't put the book down and will be buying the sequel straight away!

Update: I bought this for my mother this year and she said it was the first time in years that she sat up reading until 5am! Then she proceeded to get the sequels so she could read them back-to-back. Needless to say, my mother needs some sleep! LoL

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Utilisateur anonyme
  • Utilisateur anonyme
  • 11/01/2019

ok not great

it was interesting but boring in spots the end wasn't bad but way to predictable.