Votre titre Audible gratuit

Do You Mind If I Cancel?

(Things That Still Annoy Me)
Lu par : Gary Janetti
Durée : 3 h et 39 min
1,0 out of 5 stars (1 notation)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

"If you love storytelling in the style of David Sedaris, this audiobook - narrated by Janetti himself - is for you." (Yahoo Lifestyle)

This program is read by the author.

Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey...meet your new friend Gary Janetti.

Gary Janetti, the writer and producer for some of the most popular television comedies of all time, and creator of one of the most wickedly funny Instagram accounts there is, now turns his skills into a hilarious, and poignant audiobook chronicling the pains and indignities of everyday life.

Gary spends his 20s in New York, dreaming of starring on soap operas while in reality working at a hotel where he lusts after an unattainable colleague and battles a bellman who despises it when people actually use a bell to call him. He chronicles the torture of finding a job before the internet when you had to talk on the phone all the time, and fantasizes, as we all do, about who to tell off when he finally wins an Oscar. As Gary himself says, "These are essays from my childhood and young adulthood about things that still annoy me."

Original, brazen, and laugh out loud funny, Do You Mind if I Cancel? is something not to be missed.

Praise for Do You Mind If I Cancel?:

"Gary Janetti's book is so rolling-on-the-floor funny, so brilliantly observant, and so full of heart." (Kevin Kwan)

"The writing of Gary Janetti, whether televised or tweeted, is famously incisive and sharp-tongued. What a revelation it was, therefore, to discover in these revealing personal essays an artist of great tenderness and vulnerability. And he's still funny as hell." (Armistead Maupin)

"It’s no surprise that Gary Janetti's book is laugh-out-loud funny. It is just as cutting, wild, and droll as I hoped." (Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times best-selling author of Daisy Jones and the Six)

©2019 Gary Janetti (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

Commentaires

"Gary Janetti's book is so rolling-on-the-floor funny, so brilliantly observant, and so full of heart, I'm sure a jealous Prince George will decree that Gary be locked up in the Tower of London." (Kevin Kwan, New York Times best-selling author of the Crazy Rich Asians trilogy)

“It’s no surprise that Gary Janetti's book is laugh-out-loud funny. It is just as cutting, wild, and droll as I hoped.” (Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times best-selling author of Daisy Jones and the Six)

"Almost as soon as I began to read Gary Janetti’s Do You Mind If I Cancel?, I found myself feeling the way I felt when I first encountered Fran Lebowitz and David Rakoff: laughing and wanting to shout out the best bits to whoever else was in the room, even if no one else was there. This crazy quilt of memoir, cultural history, one-liners aplenty, and periodic arias of hopefulness, frustration, and brashly rude rage, is a work of intertwined great humor and great feeling. I’ve already lost my copy, snatched up by its next eager reader.” (Benjamin Dreyer, New York Times best-selling author of Dreyer's English)

Ce que les auditeurs disent de Do You Mind If I Cancel?

Notations
Global
  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    1
Interprétation
  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    1
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 1 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    0
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    1

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    3 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Nicole Placco
  • Nicole Placco
  • 06/11/2019

Spoken Word Poetry?

I could not get past the monotone, spoken word poetry style of narration he chose. I understand that he's "annoyed" but it never changed at all. Most memoirs I read have inflection and cadence that help you feel what the author is feeling and thinking. I downloaded this book because I love the writers of Family Guy so I thought it would be great to hear about Gary's life, but, I cannot get past the narration. Sorry Gary! Love your work otherwise!

7 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 16/12/2019

Did not like

Had a catchy title, thought it might be interesting. It was not at all what I am interested in reading about.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    2 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 31/10/2019

Of very little substance.

Read in Gary Janetti's deadpan voice, I thought that the book would be more laugh inducing. The stories are of little substance, and are honestly kind of boring like he's writing an essay for eighth grade English. Would probably not recommend.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Nancy Z.
  • Nancy Z.
  • 31/10/2019

What’s with the title?

The title is totally misleading. I was hoping for a witty, slightly sarcastic commentary on everyday annoyances, something I could relate to. This was more of a memoir or coming of age story. And not that good.

5 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Rod Haenke
  • Rod Haenke
  • 19/02/2020

Very funny

Loved it,! So funny and imaginative! Gary has a unique way of drawing you into his imagination.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour C. Wright
  • C. Wright
  • 06/02/2020

Very funny

This is a very funny easy listen . The author/ narrator is highly entertaining. It reminds me a little of David Sedaris.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour john mcconnell
  • john mcconnell
  • 24/01/2020

Hilarious and Brilliant

So self-aware, honest, and funny! I loved this book. Five more words needed yes

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Rosie
  • Rosie
  • 09/01/2020

Kept me entertained and laughing

Fun book. Very relatable, even to a straight female with no aspirations for stardom. I would have given the performance 5 stars except the pace was too varied without reason. It was easy enough to see past that and enjoy the stories though.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Stittsville Shopper
  • Stittsville Shopper
  • 13/12/2019

i love this book!

A fun, fast and fascinating read. Highly recommend. Gary please write about your further adventures. I need more!

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Becky S.
  • Becky S.
  • 31/10/2019

A great find

I was looking for something to listen to because I fell and injured myself. This was the perfect answer to my glum mood. It made me laugh, and forget my cares. Thanks Audible and Gary!

1 personne a trouvé cela utile