Gratuit avec l’offre d'essai

Écoutez en illimité un large choix de livres audio, créations & podcasts Audible Original et histoires pour enfants.
Recevez 1 crédit audio par mois à échanger contre le titre de votre choix - ce titre vous appartient.
Gratuit avec l'offre d'essai, ensuite 9,95 €/mois. Résiliez à tout moment.
Couverture de Defy or Defend

Defy or Defend

De : Gail Carriger
Lu par : Emma Newman
Essayer pour 0,00 €

9,95 € par mois après 30 jours. Résiliez à tout moment.

Acheter pour 17,91 €

Acheter pour 17,91 €

Utiliser la carte qui se termine par
En finalisant votre achat, vous acceptez les Conditions d'Utilisation. Veuillez prendre connaissance de notre Politique de Confidentialité et de notre Politique sur la Publicité et les Cookies.
Les membres Amazon Prime bénéficient automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts chez Audible.

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    New York Times best-selling author Gail Carriger brings you a charming story of love, espionage, and Gothic makeovers set in her popular Parasolverse.

    Narrated by the wonderful Emma Newman.

    Spy...

    Dimity Plumleigh-Teignmott, code name Honey Bee, is the War Office's best and most decorative fixer. She's sweet and chipper, but oddly stealthy, and surprisingly effective given the right incentives.

    Versus knight...

    Sir Crispin Bontwee was knighted for his military service, but instead of retiring, he secretly went to work for the War Office. Mostly he enjoys his job, except when he must safeguard the Honey Bee. Neither of them are vampire experts, but when Nottingham Hive goes badly Goth, only Dimity can stop their darkness from turning bloody. And only Crispin can stop an enthusiastic Dimity from death by vampire.

    In a battle for survival (and wallpaper), Dimity must learn that not all that sparkles is good, while Cris discovers he likes honey a lot more than he thought. 

    Spinning off from the Finishing School series, featuring deadly ladies of quality, this story stands alone but chronologically follows Poison or Protect. It's Cold Comfort Farm meets Queer Eye meets What We Do In the Shadows from the author of the Parasol Protectorate books, perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Jodi Taylor, or Meljean Brook.

    Delicate sensibilities? Contains fraternizing vampires and one very curious young lady, who asks about it, sometimes in detail, but mostly in retrospect. May also involve excessive use of velvet, melodramatic poetry, and the strategic application of interpretive ballet.

    ©2020 Gail Carriger LLC (P)2020 Gail Carriger LLC

    Autres livres audio du même :

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de Defy or Defend

    Moyenne des évaluations utilisateurs. Seuls les utilisateurs ayant écouté le titre peuvent laisser une évaluation.

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
    • Amazon Customer
    • 11/06/2020

    Delightful indeed!

    The first Carriger books I actually read were the Finishing School series, and Dimity was my favorite character, so I was very excited to see that hers was the second Delightfully Deadly novella! And it really is as delightful as I would expect from a novella with Dimity as the heroine! It's nice to see her as an adult and how she's grown and changed, and stayed the same as well. I also adore her moniker- it suits her so well! Crispin is very sweet and so very repressed, and I for one spent the novel supporting Dimity's determination to climb him like a tree.
    I also really loved the way Justice was handled as a character, and of course seeing little cameos of Lord Maccon and Pillover, and mentions of Sophronia and Soap, Sidheag, and Agatha!
    The narrator did very well, but sometimes her voice changes were a little subtle for me to catch which character was speaking, and there were a few places where she said the wrong character's name in a scene or seemed to stumble over a word, but nothing major and it didn't really pull me out of the story.

    6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
    • Amazon Customer
    • 01/07/2020

    I'm a fan, but this one is skippable fluff

    The best Parasolverse books pull off a rare balancing act: they're both broad satires of a genre and stirring examples of the genre. You care about the characters and get caught up in their adventures and romances, even while the humor pushes the limits of the ridiculous. Not "Defy or Defend," alas. It's all fluff, all arch whimsy, all Parasol and no Protectorate. It's harmless and occasionally fun, but a bit tiresome and utterly forgettable--which is fitting for a book focused on Dimity, who may be the most forgettable major Carriger character.

    4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Corby
    • Corby
    • 12/07/2021

    Delightful

    I love the world this writer has created where werewolves and vampires are a part of everyday society, and espionage is a skill learned early on in floating schools finishing fine young ladies. You may need to have a bit of back-story to fully enjoy this book, or you may decide that immersing yourself in the middle is your cup of tea for the day. Either way the story can stand on it's own, but for those of us in love with the finishing school series, it's so nice to find out whats keeping are favorite's from Geraldine's busy after finishing.

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Maria
    • Maria
    • 21/06/2022

    A fun novella!

    Thoroughly enjoyed this novella. Love seeing where they continue on after the Etiquette series. The characters are true to their younger selves while also having matured in believable ways. The narration was also absolutely wonderful, as I have experienced with all books in this universe so far. Thanks for a great listen!

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour christina y braun
    • christina y braun
    • 30/12/2022

    character names

    character names not pronounced the same in each book. not a problem for those who did not read previous stories

    • Global
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      1 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Bill
    • Bill
    • 03/12/2022

    Horrible—did not finish

    Horrible — could not finish the book, which is rare for me. I forgot how bad the prior book by this author I had read was.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Minnesotan
    • Minnesotan
    • 22/10/2022

    Glad I Listened!

    I came to this series from having enjoyed this authors Parasol Protectorate, Custard Protocol and Finishing School series. Almost didn’t listen to this series due to the warning which made it sound like there could be graphic sex scenes and that’s not why I read books.

    However, the sex and physical intimacy scenes in the books have been very tastefully and tenderly written, nothing like what the warning seemed to be referring.

    I recognize the author might be trying to be sensitive but, honestly, calling special attention to such tenderly written material gives the wrong impression entirely.

    If you have been holding off on this series because the warning has you thinking it might be soft porn or there is cursing that is not the case.

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Nissa Norris
    • Nissa Norris
    • 27/04/2022

    Brilliant as always

    Thank you, Gail. Lovely job and Justice served well! Inspired to refer to gloom as taking the velvet from now on.

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Christine Gittens
    • Christine Gittens
    • 24/08/2021

    Xfinity and Sir Crispin are a delight!

    The performance was great! You could really distinguish between the characters. I enjoyed this book very much.

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Coffin cat
    • Coffin cat
    • 22/04/2021

    remember to read full description before hand.

    while I did thoroughly enjoy the story, I neglected to realize it was an erotic novel. now while, I am 27 years old, I'm not so inclined as to enjoy erotic scenes being read to me.

    the performance was good as well. while I was coming off the back of the parasol protectorate, and had gotten very used to the previous narrator, this one was very charming for the story and character. though, I wasnt as big a fan of how she pronounced certain names and it took me too long to realize she was referring to B.U.R. when she'd say Brr.

    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour L. Martin
    • L. Martin
    • 10/08/2020

    Wunderschöne Fortführung der Finishing School Reihe

    Mir gefällt an dieser Reihe besonders, dass man die Protagonistinnen nun als erwachsene Personen kennenlernen kann und ihre Liebesgeschichten verfolgen kann. Ich freue mich sehr auf die Fortsetzungen für die anderen Protagonistinnen. Ich hoffe, Audible wird diese auch im Programm haben und ich hoffe auch, dass die Sprecherin bleibt. Ich denke, wem die Vorgänger Romane gefallen haben und auch die Romane um Lady Alexia wird diese Romane sehr mögen.

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Kitvaria
    • Kitvaria
    • 05/02/2021

    Witty and fun Steampunk (little steam in this one)

    This book starts with a rather cute content warning, so I was already expecting it to be different to the main series it is a spin off for. I utterly loved the Finishing School series, so I definitely needed to read this, even if it was a different tone.

    And while I definitely could have done with less sex and romance, it was at least done in the typical Carriger way of being fun and entertaining, and not the cringeworthy way it is so often done, so while it didn't add to the story for me, it also didn't detract from the story.

    The plot itself definitely was as entertaining, a bit silly and much fun as I was expecting and I more or less flew through the whole book in one go. I enjoyed all the main characters, and especially enjoy the diversity Carriger likes to encompass. Vampire wanting to be a female instead of a male? Sure, dress in beautiful dresses and get compliments about just how good it suits you! And I do love that in her world so much. As this is for an adult audience we also get to see a bit of the other side, of how being judged can affect people, and I loved the balance between some serious topics and the typical joviality of her books.