Votre titre Audible gratuit

Death on a Moonlit Night

Cherringham - A Cosy Crime Series: Mystery Shorts 26
Lu par : Neil Dudgeon
Durée : 2 h et 45 min
5 out of 5 stars (1 notation)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

When the boss of the big local DIY outlet is murdered on a moonlit night, all the evidence points to the store's junior manager. And when police retrieve the murder weapon from the Thames, the manager goes on the run. But Jack and Sarah are not at all sure of his guilt. Can they uncover the real killer before it's too late for the runaway suspect?

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new audio episode released every two weeks. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of DCI John Barnaby in "Midsomer Murders" and Jim Riley in "The Life of Riley". He is also known for his film roles in "The Nativity", "Sorted" and "Son of Rambow". In 2012 Dudgeon starred as Norman Birkett on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

©2019 Lübbe Audio (P)2019 Lübbe Audio

Ce que les auditeurs disent de Death on a Moonlit Night

Notations
Global
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Interprétation
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jeff Fields
  • Jeff Fields
  • 18/02/2019

Entertaining

I'm never disappointed with this series. Perfect cozy crimes and so enjoyable. Keep them coming!

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Whirligig
  • Whirligig
  • 29/06/2019

Story in another compilation

This story is also included in the Cherringham - A Cosy Crime Series Compilation - Cherringham 25-27. I bought this story in March, used a credit to buy the compilation in April, and didn't realize my mistake until I started to listen to this title in June.
I really like the Cherringham stories, the characters, the village, and the narration. So much fun to listen.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Verna
  • Verna
  • 23/02/2019

Great listening!

The Cherringham Series are murder shorts sort of like Tv episodes with Jack and Sarah serving as unofficial detectives. You get to know everyone in the community, and the places of interest. Each mystery is as good as the one before! Jack is an American retired from NYPD to Cherryingham and Sarah is a young local. Have read everyone of the stories and hope for more!

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Marily
  • Marily
  • 31/07/2019

Wow, what a start!

This was quite a murder, Now how do they find out who did it? Jack and Sarah need to get involved because the police think they have a solved case and don't need to look farther. It's too pat, too loaded against the defendent.
Great story. Fantastic reader!!

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour ARH
  • ARH
  • 26/06/2019

Another Cherringham delight

I’m so glad that Neil Dudgeon is still narrating, and that Costello and Richards are still writing, new Cherringham stories. This team produces the bookish equivalent of the TV series Midsomer Mysteries, except Cherringham shows off the wonderful ability of Dudgeon to voice all the variety of characters, including young amateur sleuth Sarah and American ex-detective Jack, perfectly. Please keep these wonderful stories coming!

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Kdmd
  • Kdmd
  • 28/03/2019

The fun returns!

Love these cozy mysteries! I’m always amazed how much story can be crammed into a couple of hours!
Matthew and Neil do such a great job weaving these mini stories. Really glad they are expanding into a 6 hour story for the next go around. And, as alway, Neil Dudgeon is perfection in narration! More Jack and Sarah!

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour veronica
  • veronica
  • 04/03/2019

love them!

I love that this series is so down to earth. It gives you a look at the characters lives without giving too much detail just to make the story longer. I also love the fact that the authors didn't make this a May/December love affair right from the start of the series. If it happens in the future though, I won't be mad. ijs

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour A.Singer
  • A.Singer
  • 28/02/2020

This short is also in compilation Book 9

Because the descriptions for the shorts don't tell you when they are also included in one of the Cherringham Cosy Crime Series compilations, it's easy to buy the same stories again, if you buy Cherringham compilations and shorts. This short is also #27 in the Cherringham Cosy Crime Series Compilations - Book 9. So if you have that compilation, you probably don't want to buy this short again. Just FYI.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Trish R.
  • Trish R.
  • 11/03/2019

Great little read/listen...


This was about a murder of a boss that deserved it BUT the man who was framed for it, Nick, did not deserve it. Nick was the fiancé of Sarah’s partner, so we knew all the while that he was innocent. It was a pretty good frame-job too, but they couldn’t pull anything over on Jack, our retired NYPD Detective.

As to the narration: Love they sound of Neil Dudgeon voice for everyone, especially Jack. He always does such a wonderful job on these novellas.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Melissa
  • Melissa
  • 22/02/2019

Always, always wonderful time spent listening!

This series is consistently enjoyable. Each mystery unfolds with interesting characters and believable dialogue nestled in a village you want to live in... if murders and crime don’t bother you. Neil Dudgeon has the perfect voice and style for each Cherringham character.
I really do look forward to each story that he narrates!