Gratuit avec l’offre d'essai

Écoutez en illimité un large choix de livres audio, créations & podcasts Audible Original et histoires pour enfants.
Recevez 1 crédit audio par mois à échanger contre le titre de votre choix - ce titre vous appartient.
Gratuit avec l'offre d'essai, ensuite 9,95 €/mois. Résiliez à tout moment.
Couverture de City of Windows

City of Windows

De : Robert Pobi
Lu par : Stephen Graybill
Essayer pour 0,00 €

9,95 € par mois après 30 jours. Résiliez à tout moment.

Acheter pour 28,90 €

Acheter pour 28,90 €

Utiliser la carte qui se termine par
En finalisant votre achat, vous acceptez les Conditions d'Utilisation. Veuillez prendre connaissance de notre Politique de Confidentialité et de notre Politique sur la Publicité et les Cookies.
Les membres Amazon Prime bénéficient automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts chez Audible.

Vous êtes membre Amazon Prime ?

Bénéficiez automatiquement de 2 livres audio offerts.
Bonne écoute !

    Description

    "A tough, wise, knowing narrative voice, a great plot, a great setting, and even better characters - I loved this." (Lee Child, New York Times best-selling author)

    In the tradition of Jeffery Deaver’s Lincoln Rhyme and David Baldacci’s Amos Decker, Robert Pobi's City of Windows introduces Lucas Page, a brilliant, reluctant investigator, matching wits with a skilled, invisible killer.

    During the worst blizzard in memory, an FBI agent in a moving SUV in New York City is killed by a nearly impossible sniper shot. Unable to pinpoint where the shot came from, as the storm rapidly wipes out evidence, the agent-in-charge Brett Kehoe turns to the one man who might be able to help them - former FBI agent Lucas Page.

    Page, a university professor and best-selling author, left the FBI years ago after a tragic event robbed him of a leg, an arm, an eye, and the willingness to continue. But he has an amazing ability to read a crime scene and figure out angles and trajectories in his head, and he might be the only one to be able to find the sniper’s nest. With a new wife and family, Lucas Page has no interest in helping the FBI - except for the fact that the victim was his former partner.

    Agreeing to help for his partner’s sake, Page finds himself hunting a killer with an unknown agenda and amazing sniper skills in the worst of conditions. And his partner’s murder is only the first in a series of meticulously planned murders carried out with all-but-impossible sniper shots. The only thing connecting the deaths is that the victims are all with law enforcement - that is, until Page’s own family becomes a target.

    To identify and hunt down this ruthless, seemingly unstoppable killer, Page must discover what hidden past connects the victims before he himself loses all that is dear to him.

    ©2019 Robert Pobi (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

    Commentaires

     "City of Windows is moving, breathtaking--a great entertainment." — The Wall Street Journal

    Ce que les auditeurs disent de City of Windows

    Moyenne des évaluations utilisateurs. Seuls les utilisateurs ayant écouté le titre peuvent laisser une évaluation.
    Global
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Interprétation
    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      0
    • 4 étoiles
      1
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0
    Histoire
    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 étoiles
      1
    • 4 étoiles
      0
    • 3 étoiles
      0
    • 2 étoiles
      0
    • 1 étoile
      0

    Commentaires - Veuillez sélectionner les onglets ci-dessous pour changer la provenance des commentaires.

    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars

    Captivant mais lourd accent américain

    Captivant mais attention à tous les non anglophones d’origine, le lecteur a un fort accent américain qui peut parfois gêner la compréhension

    Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

    Merci. Votre vote a été pris en compte.

    Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation !

    Trier par :
    Trier par:
    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Thomas
    • Thomas
    • 08/08/2019

    Great Story until the Lecture Began.....

    Honestly it is hard to know if the political rants are the fault of the author of the publisher. "Robert, you have got to get some structural racism, anti-gun screed, digs at the Trump Administration if you want your books to be read and talked about in the Hamptons and Fire Island!!"Lee Child and John Sandford went down this road for awhile but wised up. Fortunately for them they are well established characters. Robert Pobi, not so much. I will not be reading further exploits of Lucas.

    BTW Robert, for those readers that believe in the Second Amendment for the health of the Republic, I know you believe there are no threats that justify it, the memory of 225 million death from the "isms" last century is still strong. Although there is very strict gun control in the UK, there are also laws to control scissors, knives, acids and cricket bats.

    Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

    Merci. Votre vote a été pris en compte.

    Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation !

    34 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Donna
    • Donna
    • 07/08/2019

    5

    A thriller. A mystery. Very
    good. I had trouble stopping this for reality .... I really liked the plots, the narrator, the
    scenes, the ending. It's all good, darn good.

    Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

    Merci. Votre vote a été pris en compte.

    Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation !

    15 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      1 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Judy
    • Judy
    • 10/09/2019

    Not as good as his previous books.

    I was hoping for more. He stepped toward the tiresome political. I will keep watching for future books, maybe he will come back to his heart .

    Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

    Merci. Votre vote a été pris en compte.

    Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation !

    14 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour MC
    • MC
    • 10/08/2019

    Captivating New Series

    This book is quite good. I had returned a couple that were better rated due to sheer boredom. Glad to see this will be a series. As to the reviewer who had issues with the politics, that truly is a non-issue and ridiculous observation imho. Recommend.

    Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

    Merci. Votre vote a été pris en compte.

    Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation !

    13 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      1 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Concerned Mom
    • Concerned Mom
    • 29/01/2021

    Give me a break

    The first dig was to conservative talk radio...then it was downhill from there. I don’t need to be lectured on current events by you or any other fiction writer...I get enough of that BS listening to the asinine main stream media. Sending back!

    Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

    Merci. Votre vote a été pris en compte.

    Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation !

    11 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      5 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour DobieChuck
    • DobieChuck
    • 24/08/2019

    It’s All About the Math, and Humanity

    One of the best 1st novels you’ll read!! Emotional depth, uncommon understanding of peoples, nice twists, and some downright moving scenes... Moves well, and looks at itself honestly... Only caveat is that the narration, although acceptable, is nothing special... Lucas Page is an extraordinary protagonist w/ hidden layers, and the story engages, and the understanding of disability is simply spot on... Oh, and for those of you that need a writer to confirm or deny your political and social leanings, go away, this is far too good a book for you;).

    Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

    Merci. Votre vote a été pris en compte.

    Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation !

    9 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour Kathleen
    • Kathleen
    • 07/02/2021

    Wanted Potential

    The theme of City of Windows is pretty common. A federal investigator, blessed with a unique and highly advantageous skill set, who happens to be independently wealthy, overcomes extraordinary personal challenges to try to bring a killing spree to an end.

    Common, but not bad.

    What spoils the book for me is the author inserting obviously unnecessary political diatribes, denigrating everyone who has the audacity to disagree with his political leanings.
    I thought I’d purchased a mystery thriller, but found I’d purchased a political manifesto. It’s fine the author wants to attack any conservative as ignorant, gun-toting Neanderthals, just understand those depictions are in accurate, but more importantly, the political lectures detract from the entertainment value the book might have had.

    Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

    Merci. Votre vote a été pris en compte.

    Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation !

    4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      2 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour KK
    • KK
    • 03/02/2021

    dial down the politics

    Great performance, great characters but too much negativity and name calling and preachy on politics.

    Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

    Merci. Votre vote a été pris en compte.

    Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation !

    4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      4 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour CJFLA
    • CJFLA
    • 30/08/2020

    Really good book

    This is a very interesting and entertaining book. The ending will amaze you. The narration is excellent. I will definitely be buying more audiobooks by this Robert Pobi, especially those narrated by Stephen Graybill.

    Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

    Merci. Votre vote a été pris en compte.

    Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation !

    2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

    • Global
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Interprétation
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Histoire
      3 out of 5 stars
    Image de profile pour francine
    • francine
    • 24/08/2021

    Too much political commentary, potentially biased

    Too much political commentary, potentially biased. Disparaging portrayal of Christians as white supremacists. Not all rural people hate black and brown people

    Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

    Merci. Votre vote a été pris en compte.

    Vous avez donné votre avis sur cette évaluation !

    1 personne a trouvé cela utile