Votre titre Audible gratuit

Boyfriend Material

Lu par : Joe Jameson
Durée : 13 h et 11 min
Catégories : LGBT, Littérature et fiction
5,0 out of 5 stars (2 notations)

9,95 € / mois après 30 jours. Résiliable à tout moment.

ou
Dans le panier

Description

Luc O'Donnell is tangentially - and reluctantly - famous. His rock-star parents split when he was young, and the father he's never met spent the next 20 years cruising in and out of rehab. Now that his dad's making a comeback, Luc's back in the public eye, and one compromising photo is enough to ruin everything.

To clean up his image, Luc has to find a nice normal relationship...and Oliver Blackwood is as nice and normal as they come. He's a barrister, an ethical vegetarian, and someone who has never inspired a moment of scandal in his life. In other words, he’s perfect boyfriend material. Unfortunately, apart from being gay, single, and really really in need of a date for a big event, Luc and Oliver have nothing in common. So they strike a deal to be publicity-friendly (fake) boyfriends until the dust settles. Then they can go their separate ways and pretend it never happened.

But the thing about fake-dating is that it can feel a lot like real-dating. And that's when you get used to someone...start falling for them...don't ever want to let them go.

©2020 Dreamscape Media, LLC (P)2020 Dreamscape Media, LLC

Ce que les auditeurs disent de Boyfriend Material

Notations
Global
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    2
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Interprétation
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    2
  • 4 étoiles
    0
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0
Histoire
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 étoiles
    1
  • 4 étoiles
    1
  • 3 étoiles
    0
  • 2 étoiles
    0
  • 1 étoile
    0

Il n'y a pas encore de critique disponible pour ce titre.
Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Cranky Reader
  • Cranky Reader
  • 08/07/2020

The right material!

Boyfriend Material hit the right note of fun & funny yet serious enough to care. I’ve been in a reading slump recently. It’s been hard to find a romance with real emotional growth from trying situations that aren’t so tragic that they’re too much to take because 2020 is a dumpster fire. I completely forgot about social distancing while watching Luc deftly schmooze donors for CRAPP. I liked Oliver enthusing about his career & making sure jokes weren’t mean spirited. I cheered when the hotelier refused to give out personal information about a guest. It was great that no one went stalker - they said their piece & took no for an answer. The solid couple of chapters full of parents and (appropriate) F-words were tense and interesting and healthy. I liked the use of internet grammar (such van, much emergency; clean all the things: we baconed in silence) and supportive friends. I agree with the SBTB review that suggested a longer or additional final scene or epilogue would be in order. Not so much because they were lacking, but because I wanted more time with Oliver and Luc being together & good for each other. Revisiting the hedgehog boxers was a nice touch, but what I like about fake relationships is how they nudge the characters back together again and again until they catch their groove. There was so much good togetherness in the book as a whole, after a couple chapters of apartness (forgive me), I wanted more time with them being together again. If you want a comedic romance that has light & fluffy moments, a running side gag of escalating book emergencies, good & bad parents, and emotion enough to tug the heartstrings, read Boyfriend Material. (If you haven’t belly laughed by the ~3rd page/chapter, it’s not your kind of humor. It is exactly the kind of humor I enjoy so I LOLed a lot.) Steam: Low. The M/M sexytimes were slow to get going then off page. Narration: Generally well done. Narrator used different voices for dialogue. Some of the choices made for female voices seemed a tad odd but overall it was pleasant listening. Good audio quality.

18 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Jennycita
  • Jennycita
  • 11/07/2020

Great read for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue

I always enjoy a good fake boyfriend yarn and these characters were compelling. The author’s breezy tone made it very hard for me to put this down! The narrator is an asset to the prose and a delight to listen to. Highly recommend! ❤️💙❤️💙

6 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Texan2
  • Texan2
  • 21/07/2020

Fabulous

My favorite book of this year, and my favorite narration. Both have helped to keep my world afloat in the chaos that is the year 2020. Listening a second time, has made it even better. This is bound to be my go to comfort audio. Joe Jameson is fabulous.

4 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour MagicalAM
  • MagicalAM
  • 04/08/2020

Enjoyable but more angst than romance

The story is funny and engaging enough to be entertaining, particularly the side characters. Narration was especially good. But there is zero heat and while the story is focused on a developing relationship, it’s not very romantic overall. If you enjoy witty banter and British stories, this is for you. But don’t expect the usual m/m romance elements.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Mehecske
  • Mehecske
  • 11/07/2020

Wonderful

Alexis Hall is a wonderful writer whose characters are full of life and joy. You can feel the fun he has playing with language and the thoughtfulness put into it. Joe Jameson did a fabulous performance. He was a full cast of characters himself. I particularly liked his upper class nitwit performance. I highly recommend this book. All the heart eyes emojis.

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Alicia Z. Ramos
  • Alicia Z. Ramos
  • 03/08/2020

I love this book RIDICULOUS amounts

This book is a delight from the opening scene to the very last sentence. I've gushed at the author about it on Twitter. I've recommended it to every friend who'll listen. I'm not sure how many times I've listened to it (many), and it's only been out a few weeks. It's hilarious and heart-wrenching, and the characters are, despite their rom-com ways, deeply human and believable. I want to send Alexis Hall chocolates and medals and perhaps a nice cottage in the country. Since I can't do those things, I'll just tell you: buy this NOW.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Styly
  • Styly
  • 01/08/2020

Glad I found this book

I got the Kindle version with the narration. First book in a while that I purchased. What a great find, really made my 40 minute commutes fly by. I was actually excited to commute for a change because I couldn't wait to get back into the story. I felt like the character development was excuted very well and the storyline was easy to follow. At some points, l however found the characters to act unrealistically dramatic for things that weren't really that dramatic. On a side note, great choice of narrator, very dreamy voice!

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour AmazonReviewer
  • AmazonReviewer
  • 10/07/2020

Quirky, emotional, humorous , and sweet.

I loved this very typically quirky and often hilarious romance. All the characters - even the ridiculous over-the-top posh ones were well developed and truly made the book in my opinion. Like almost all of this author’s books it was outstanding! Between the times I found myself chuckling at the humor, I was tearing up because of Lucian’s pain and emotional damage. It was not an easy path to the HFN finale. I hope Hall has more books in the works because he is truly one of the most talented authors I’ve read - especially in this genre and it was a long wait for this latest publication. I’m so happy to find something of his again.

2 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Karen Conage
  • Karen Conage
  • 22/10/2020

Very enjoyable

Thus was a very fun and enjoyable audio book right here folks. Highly recommend it, especially if you've read Red White & Royal Blue.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 21/10/2020

A Great Story... Definite Driveway Moments

I very much enjoyed this book. Great narrator and story along with great character development as well. I caught myself myself laughing out loud several times, and there were even a few times when I shed a tear. I primarily listen to Audible in my car so I found myself parked in the driveway after arriving home not wanting to turn off the story. Do yourself a favor and listen to this book.

1 personne a trouvé cela utile

Trier par :
Trier par:
  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Kunde
  • Amazon Kunde
  • 10/07/2020

New favorite book

This book became a new favorite very quickly: the story is excellent, the speaker is fantastic, it’s all so very good!!! Highly recommend!

3 personnes ont trouvé cela utile

  • Global
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    4 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Amazon Kunde
  • Amazon Kunde
  • 29/10/2020

Loved it!

I enjoyed the book especially because of the main characters flaws. Too often main characters are perfect little snowflakes. Luke is in a bad state, he's mean and he fucks up. But he gets better and learns to do better. It just feels more real that way.

  • Global
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    1 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour M.
  • M.
  • 19/08/2020

Booooooooring

Very annoying principal character full of self loathing. All that whining got on my nerves. Story - just meh... Some parts were hilarious but the overall experience was so boring that I just stopped listening. I got the feeling of being a therapist forced to listen to a client with lots of issues. Admittedly the reader did an admirable job, which was the only positive thing I have to report. No idea how this audiobook got five stars from other listeners.

  • Global
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Interprétation
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Histoire
    5 out of 5 stars
Image de profile pour Wortwurm
  • Wortwurm
  • 13/08/2020

British

I loved every part of it. Luke's feelings and how he cut through to them after such a long time keeping them away. How communication actually brought out the good parts in their lives, which is by far unique in romance books? Luke's inner voice is so hilariously dry and sarcastic. And I loved the voice of Joe Jameson!!