Heads in Beds | Livre audio

Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality

Prix :23,40 €
  • Détails de l'abonnement :
    • 1 livre audio par mois de votre choix
    • Le premier mois est gratuit, 9,95 €/mois ensuite
    • Sans engagement
    • Annulation simple et rapide
  • - ou -

Description

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.

Jacob Tomsky has worked in hotels for more than a decade, doing everything from valet parking to manning the front desk. He's checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room service, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late check out, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your mini-bar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. And in Heads in Beds, he pulls back the curtain on the hospitality business, revealing the crazy yet compelling reality of an industry we think we know. It is an incredibly funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life and boy, is there a market for it: in 2010, the American lodging industry generated $127.7 billion in revenue. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on the valet parking garage, and the housekeeping department's dirty little secrets.

Prepare to be moved, too, by his insightful honesty about the profession; employees are often poorly paid and frequently abused. However, Heads in Beds is more than just a memoir. Jake explains the secrets of the industry, offering easy and legal ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle - from scoring late check-ins and upgrades to getting that pay-per-view charge knocked off your bill. This book will give you the knowledge you need to get the very best service from any hotel or property, from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, it will keep the bellhops from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and stomping the crap out of it.

©2012 Jacob Tomsky (P)2012 Random House Audio

Ce que les critiques disent

"Jacob Tomsky is a star. The kid writes like a dream. Heads in Beds is hilarious, literate, canny, indignant and kind - revealing an author who manages somehow to be both a total hustler and a complete humanitarian. I love this book. Keep an eye on this writer. I'm telling you, he's a star." (Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia)

Ce que les membres d'Audible en pensent

NOTATIONS

4.0 (1 )
5 étoiles
 (0)
4 étoiles
 (1)
3 étoiles
 (0)
2 étoiles
 (0)
1 étoile
 (0)
Global
4.0 (1 )
5 étoiles
 (0)
4 étoiles
 (1)
3 étoiles
 (0)
2 étoiles
 (0)
1 étoile
 (0)
Histoire
4.0 (1 )
5 étoiles
 (0)
4 étoiles
 (1)
3 étoiles
 (0)
2 étoiles
 (0)
1 étoile
 (0)
Performance


Il n'y a pas encore de critiques disponibles pour ce livre audio.

Signaler un contenu inapproprié

Si vous trouvez cette critique inappropriée et pensez qu'elle devrait être retirée de notre site, faites-le nous savoir. Ce signalement sera examiné par Audible et nous prendrons les mesures appropriées.

Annuler

Merci beaucoup !

Nous avons reçu votre signalement. Audible l'étudiera le plus rapidement possible et prendra la décision la plus appropriée.